PE #10 – Halloween and Me

Personal Essay Button I’ll be writing and posting Personal Essays on the last Tuesday of every month. They will be honest, sometimes vivid explorations of my life.

I’m writing them for two reasons: to help put my experiences in perspective and to purge myself of any residual compost.

Since it is good therapy, you are invited to join me, post your link in comments and I’ll be sure to drop by.

Let it begin:

halloween picture, grimm reaper image, emaginette's halloween blog post,Outside the air is crisp; and when I was a child there would be piles of burning leaves along the residential streets filling the air with the smell of burning leaves. I love Halloween; is it the scent of smoke or the bonfire? Is it the kids dressed up and on a sugar high? Fireworks? Or maybe it comes down to reliving a wonderful moment in my childhood.

They say the sense of smell is the longest memory trigger we have. I believe it. Every year we go the Halloween bonfire and wood smoke fills the air as the sun sets. It brings with it a sense of anticipation, and I don’t just mean me. There are children of all sizes and ages gravitating to this wonderful celebration.

Somehow no matter if you are the (insert slang for most elite) kid in high school, or the smallest/runtiest kid in kindergarten, or the most crotchety old fart in the land Halloween brings out the best in us. I wonder if putting on a mask even for one night loosens something deep inside us that make us feel better about ourselves. We run around the fire with sparklers in our hands. We gather and gossip waiting for the fireworks.

We keep an eye on our children and the dimming sky. We watch the crew that will let the fireworks fly gather at a safe distance with their torches. Every time one of them inspects a grouping of awaiting rockets we hold our breaths, jumping up and down trying hold back art kitten pumpkinthe grins of anticipation. It’s a Grand Forks tradition that I hope never ends. It’s more than Halloween; it’s magic that bring all ages together.

I’ve done this throughout my life and so has Bossman. When he was very young, we’d sit in the car, staying warm, and he’d bounce around the car like a young lunatic, sharing his candy with me. His eyes huge, little forefinger pointing to the flowers of light in the sky. He’d pretend to give a blossom to me as if he could pluck it from the sky. I think of all the memories we gather in a lifetime and I can’t help but sigh with happiness.

24 responses to “PE #10 – Halloween and Me

  1. Enjoyed your post and the imagery of your Halloween bonfire. What a fantastic way to spend Halloween night. We have nothing like that. And fireworks? Only on Fourth of July in my life. (However, in FL there are fireworks for New Year’s Eve) Personally Halloween is one of my least favorite holidays. All things scary. I guess I was scarred by scary masks and movies and tv shows, so I don’t enjoy it. Funny thing, though. My first published novella, Sunshine Boulevard, was categorized as horror. Go figure!!

  2. I really do love this time of year and yes, all the smells definitely bring back lots of childhood memories and memories from when my children were younger as well.

  3. That little grim reaper is adorable! October/Autumn is my favorite time of the year. I love everything about it. I wish I could go to a bonfire on Halloween. That sounds like a lot of fun. I hope you have another special Halloween this year. 🙂

  4. Wonderful atmospheric post, Anna! I’ve never heard fireworks called ‘blossoms in the sky’ before – what a fabulous play on words. I love it!

  5. I love the pics with your post. They add that something extra. Since I moved back to Florida, we spend Halloween at a friend of ours for Spooky Boo. We end the night with a burning of the pumpkins. This will be the sixth year and I do have a lot of pleasant memories with my hubby and friends. I hope you have a super Halloween with lots of treats.

  6. This is my favorite time of year, too. It’s the smell of bonfires, the spice drinks, sugar high, catching my favorite Halloween movies on TV, and seeing the kids dressed up. Thanks for sharing your story. =)

  7. Good start. I love how honest you can be. I must say, I kept getting distracted by your NaNoWriMo counter. I will check it again November 1st.

  8. Lovely. Smell is such a powerful thing. Certain smells will trigger memories for me, and some make me tear up or feel warm from the memories they bring forth.

  9. Fall is my favorite time of the year. Always has been. The shortened days and changing of vegetation sparks my imagination and I imagine ghosts are everywhere. Cooler weather. Halloween decorations. I just can’t get enough of it.

  10. jenniferbielman

    Thank you so much for sharing. Great imagery!

  11. Most of my memories are from when my son was young. The fussing over which costume to wear, the excitement that builds all week until that night finally arrives. And then trick-or-treating for hours. He was such a sweet thing and always wanted to have me help sort his candy and put it in a bowl for both of us:)
    Now, he’s grown, no trick-or-treaters come to my house out here in the sticks, and I don’t get invited to any parties. I DO make popcorn, turn out the lights, and watch scary movies with my now 19 year old son until we can’t take it anymore. Laughing and picking at the movies and talking about those younger days.
    I do plan on having a bonfire this weekend though. And it’s going to turn chilly so it’ll be fun. My son wants us to drag out an old story we used to take turns adding to and add more to it this year. I should write it down!
    Happy Halloween Taylor:)

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.