Bald Eagle



Sometimes, at my job site, we work outdoors.


We get visitors passing through like the black bear last year. Well, this time the unexpected guest was a bald eagle.


Tuesday he spent a majority of the morning in a bare tree. He was easy enough to spot, they are huge. Eventually a mob of crows moved in, and carried on as if they were the local gangstas. Lots of posturing and cawing. Quite the show.

According to Yahoo! Answers a mob of crows gather at the sight of a predator (eagle or hawk) and try to chase it away. Because they are safer and more intimidating in large numbers, they gather into a mob and act as one unit.


Once the show was over, and the crows were gone, the eagle took to the sky. He rode the wind in long spirals over our heads, the neighboring fields and low mountains round the valley. The wind near the ground was blowing so hard I could barely see. I put on my safety glasses and watched with envy. Not once did I catch him flapping his wings, he just floated in a circle as if attached to a kite string. 


Wednesday was even more awesome. The winds were strong again, and he rode so low to the ground we could almost count the feathers. The scene was beautiful. 


Not a crow in site. I guess they knew when to stay away.


After a while he landed in the tallest pine around, and stretched his wings. Luckily it wasn’t far from us. We watched him and he watched us.


Its strange when something like this happens. I felt a union with him. Like somehow we knew each other and maintained an understanding. As incredible as it sounds, we took measure of each other and decided to be friends.


Okay, I decided to be his friend, he was willing to tolerate me as an acquaintance. 


This strange union meant everything to me. Whether true or not, those moments made me one with nature.


Check it out. Nature is a powerful thing.

 

9 responses to “Bald Eagle

  1. How amazing! I can't believe what wonderful wildlife you encounter in your neck of the woods. 🙂 I count myself lucky if I see an urban fox, but a Bold Eagle. Wow. Just wow!

  2. Thank you, you understand totally. 🙂

  3. This sounds like quite the experience! I used to live out in a very rural area where we'd get wildlife visitors. I really miss it. We'd get a murder of crows on a daily basis as buzzards would hunt the mice in the field!I came across your blog via the Goodreads Making Connections group. I'm a new follower. I'd appreciate it if you'd do the same for me – thanks!Rea of Rea's Reading and Reviews

  4. Thanks for dropping by and I'll gladly follow you, appreciate the invitation.

  5. WOW!!! what an amazing experience, I wish i could have seen that.love your blog new follower herethx for dropping by bookaddict

  6. If the eagle wasn't flapping his wings then he was probably cheating somehow.Actually, nothing like that happens near where I work.Mind you, a few years ago we had two ducks take up residence in one of the car parking spots in front of the building.For about a week they would just be sitting there each morning.

  7. You're welcome. I'll be back and I hope you are too. 🙂

  8. Still nice I bet. Thanks for coming by.

  9. Hey there! Stopping by from shadow kisses Book Reviews! Do you have a networked blogs or linky for me to follow by?

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

