Emaginette, I’m an Author II

If you looked at my March 27th post you’ll know I was signed by J. Taylor Publishing. I am one of seven authors that will be contributing to the One More Day Anthology.

I’m so excited I feel like shouting it out—loud, very, very loud. At the same time I don’t want to sound like a new mother. You know what I mean. Every sentence leads back to my baby. I worry I’ll go too far, cuz the ebook won’t be published until December 2, 2013.

That’s a long time.

I did learn something new that I think is important. It has to do with being a Canadian and being paid by a US publisher. I thought that would get your attention. I needed to fill out a W-8BEN form which is a Certificate of Foreign Status of Beneficial Owner for United States Tax Withholding. It registers royalties with the IRS and allows some funds to be with held for the tax year.

Simple until you need to fill-in the line six. Not only did I need my Social Insurance Number (line seven) I also needed ITIN. All this led to the next form called a W-7, and titled Application for IRS Individual Taxpayer Identification Number. I expected this to be simple too, but it is much more serious. I needed a copy of my passport notarized by an US citizen. Because I live close to the States taking a trip down to Colville, Wa. wasn’t that big of a deal.

If you don’t live by the States or don’t mind spending the money  you’ll need a IRS Certifying Acceptance Agent to take care of this.

The point I’m trying to make is that without that ITIN card your publisher can’t pay you. That alone can complicate your submissions, and the following contract. So consider applying for the ITIN when it is convenient for you like when you are visiting the States or a town that has an International Accountant Firm or Acceptance Agent. Also keep in mind that the US has different tax rules than Canada for more info take a look at this old post.

I’m hoping with this post that I’ll save some Canadian writers some grief.  If you have any questions don’t hold back. If I know I’ll tell; if I don’t I’ll tell you that too.

13 responses to “Emaginette, I’m an Author II

  1. Congratulations on signing J. Taylor Publishing!!!!! Sorry, I missed the previous post, but still, CONGRATS!!

    Wish you the best of luck with all the paperwork and that you can get everything set up quickly.

  2. Yes, I had to apply for my ITIN number, too. Had to send off my passport to the US Embassy. Exciting stuff. But once you have it, that’s it, you have it.
    It’s wonderful that you’re sharing your experience with everyone.

  3. First off, CONGRATULATIONS! It’s okay to sound like a new Mom, you’ve earned it. Bask in the glory for a while, then gret back to work with some more writing. Great advice for Canadian authors (I’m US, but have alot of Danadian pals) I’ll tweet a link because this is great for authors to know. Continued success.

    • Thank you, Bette Lee. I guess we all go through a growing stage.

      I hope spreading the word about W-7 and the rest will make it easier for the next Canadian. 🙂

  4. Oh gosh, what a mess. Way to have a good attitude about it 🙂

    Sarah Allen
    (From Sarah, With Joy)

  5. I am still so excited that you got signed with such a great publisher. But that sucks about the whole Canadian/US diff. It’s great info to know.

  6. Hoping don’t have to send my original passport to the U.S. Instructions for the W-7 “says” they will accept a “certified copy from the issuing agency.” And supposedly there is no fee from Passport Canada (until March 2014 anyway) to get a certified copy. I’ll find out in the next couple of days… I’m walking distance from my office to our passport office, and although only about an hour from the US border, about an 8 hour drive to one of their “Taxpayer Assistance Centres”, no consulate or anything here. But thanks for all the great information to assist in this “make work for bureaucrats” mess!

    • Thanks for commenting.

      Another alternative for the Canadian that wants to submit in the USA. It is nice to know there is more than one way to get this done. 🙂

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

