Fighting The Block

I’ve hit a wall and I hate it.

This comment was written earlier this week. I expected to pick up the keyboard, set it on my lap and type. No problem. HA, but I was wrong. It took work. When writers advise you to write every day. Do it, do it, cuz not doing it can bite when you try to get going again.

So what happen? Two-thirds through my story I ran into complications. My puzzle pieces didn’t fit just right. Hammering them didn’t make them fit any better. So I had to go back and think about what I’d done. The thinking got to be too much and I walked away.

I suspect, any of my readers would have as well.emaginette's rose, blogger lineart, lineart flower, rose image, black and white rose,

While doing a read through I found the story repetitive and boring. For the record Cozy Mysteries are not boring. They have quirky characters, puzzle pieces galore and they are fun to read.

Okay I can deal. Remove the problem areas and then a twist occurs to me. I’m stumped. Changes the story from paranormal to medical or somewhere in between. Every time I try to write another word there is shaking and quickly thinking of something else I must do.

So I watched Veronica Mars, Psych; read some Stephanie Plum, and looked for answers in Writing the Modern Mystery by Barbara Norville. It helped. I took notes and looked specifically for how fun flavor was added to the characters and situations.

Every time I’ve run into this wall doing such activities usually gets me going again. But not this time. It eventually dawned on me. I started to Google. Cozy Mysteries don’t have much paranormal in them and I knew what I needed to do.

I have to rip away any doubts, go crazy and let loose. Let the words get to the page and not hold back at all. I need to give it everything I have and yes, maybe make a fool out of myself. It is going to be off the wall, or completely unique. I guess I’m pulling from the spark that makes us who we are.

Wish me luck, I’m going to need it.

Any suggestions of what else I can do? Please—don’t be shy. Share. Tell me your secret to keep on keeping on. Thanks.

15 responses to “Fighting The Block

  1. Yay! I’m the first today. 😀 Oh I know what you mean about that 2/4 block. Usually I have a few friends who act as my sounding board. As soon as I tell them the whole story, or part of the scene that’s making me itchy, somehow, it comes together. Or we keep tossing around ideas, sentences, catchy phrases. That helps alot! If you need a sounding board, feel free to ping me, Em! 🙂

  2. Oh, Good luck with the project. You can do it! Go, go, go!! 😀

  3. I’m new at this and am in awe of the whole writing process…how it pours out faster than you can write it sometimes and then you suddenly have a hiccup at the most non-descript moment. And the places the characters take you – I knew where I wanted them to end up and was excited it would happen one evening. Then it took me three days writing until the wee hours each night to reach the conclusion, they were doing whatever the heck they wanted, regardless of my intentions! Love to learn from those who’ve come before. That pre-determination is not the approach, let the characters run wild, doing “their own thing”. Thanks for the affirmation and all the best of luck!

    • Oh my characters run wild. Ask anyone and they’ll tell you.

      I’m glad you’ve picked up the writing bug. There is nothing better.

      Hope to see you again. Have you got a blog going?

      • No, just FB and Twitter so far, too busy with work, reading WAY to much about fiction writing form, doing all the bureaucratic stuff, writing and now editing while my characters are itchy to escape into book 2! Web page is on the list…. Feel free to “like” me on FB…*smirk* – been told I need to shameless self-promote, it’s my new motto. Have a great rest of the week-end!

  4. I usually find when I can’t write it’s my subconscious telling me there’s a problem. I tend to go back to the story’s core problem and the MC’s goal, then evaluate the scene again. It usually helps put me back on track. 🙂 Hang on in there, Em.

  5. Good luck! I know you can do it. Don’t let yourself get in the way. 🙂

  6. Good luck, you can do it. Maybe just open a blank page and write about nothing till the juices flow

  7. I hate that – it gets to the stage when you don’t want to stop writing until the story is finished even if you never eat or sleep again, just so you don’t lose that groove. I hope that patch is well and truly behind you now!

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

