Aside

Writer’s Groups

I don’t know of any group in the Scribophile realm that is more supportive or helpful than the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pens.

It could be the fact that some of the members are published, so there is experience behind their advice. It could be their openness to new writers, so they understand some writers (me) need to fumble a long at a slower pace. Or it could be how they lead by example.The long and short 2536572of it is, it doesn’t matter.

Every time I drop by I feel lucky they are there.

Writing is a hobby, a passion, and I can’t help myself. If there is a way to put down words, paper & pen, computer & keyboard; tablet & stylus; I’m doing it, and do it for hours at a time. It doesn’t mean I know what I’m doing, and that is why I appreciate the sisterhood so much.

They give me a heading and inspiration to be so much more.

Thank you ladies. You have made my world so much bigger, better and brighter.

How about you, do you have a writer’s group or circle? Tell me about them.

16 responses to “Writer’s Groups

  1. I feel completely the same way about the Sisterhood. It’s a writing lifeline, and I’m so lucky to know so many wonderful, supportive writing friends.

  2. Your writing Group sounds fantastic. I haven’t been so lucky to find a group, but I do have a wonderful CP who tells me like it is when critiquing my work-and also extremely encouraging makes me feel really giddy with praises..LOL Yeah, I guess my writer ego needs that. So having a Group must be doubly wonderful. 🙂

    • Support and encouragement yes, but we all agree honesty is the biggest factor. When we put work out to be critiqued we expect it to be ripped a part without mercy.

      Readers know when something is off, even if they don’t know what it is, so we fix it.

      The reader is the most important part of the story and we don’t know if they will be the editor, publisher or a fan.

      I’m sure your CP and yourself keep the reader in the forefront too. 🙂

  3. Such a sweet message (:
    I’ve never really tried with my story ideas. It’s hard to get started. It’s nice to know that there are people out there who care to take time out of there day and help a fellow writer.

  4. I love the name of the group, adorable!
    If I was a writer I would definitely join a group, it would be nice to have the support for sure!

  5. You are so lucky to have a group that supports you and gives you great advices.
    I’m not a writter what if I were I would love to be part of something like that.
    BTW, I’m glad you are enjoying Justice.
    SOrry I haven’t being around lately.

    Ruty@Reading…Dreaming

  6. That is wonderful, having a group that shares your passion is a wonderful blessing!

  7. jenniferbielman

    They sound like an amazing group. I love my group as well. So supportive.

  8. A good writing group is a real treasure. I think every writer needs a supportive backing that those groups so often offer.

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

