It’s In The Elements

Today is one of those days when I wished my life was more exciting. To write my post I needed a subject. I had none until I looked around me. I’m surrounded by books.

So.

I was reading a book. hehehe

It was about the craft.

I spend about an hour a day reading about how others did3478027 it before me. I’ve read: On Writing by Stephen King, Techniques of the Selling Writer by Dwright V. Swain, Artful Sentences: Syntax as Style by Virginia Tufte and many, many, more. Every one of them had a jewel.

An element.

Anyway, this time I was reading about writing for children. I knew that children are unforgiving readers and have zero tolerance for slips in pace, plot, or characterization. Curious, I wanted to know more.

Many people think writing for kids is the simplest of the craft. But children are their own animal and have specific needs. I expected some discussion on the difficulties of keeping a child’s attention. How the plot and characters have to be lively, fast paced, and fun.

They only want perfection.

2536572Want to learn how to keep a reader’s attention, read about writing for children. There are so many techniques that I couldn’t possibly put in one post, and do it well.

So I guess what I’m suggesting is if you find a book about writing whether it is about romance, children, or horror. There is probably something in it that will make you a better writer. It’s not just in the details; it’s in the elements as well.

Happy writing. What’s your favorite book on the craft? I need to know. 🙂

6 responses to “It’s In The Elements

  1. “Save the Cat” by Brook Snyder. It’s actually a book written on screenwriting, but I have learned more from this book as far as how to structure a novel, write plots, taglines, characters, etc. than I have anywhere else. It’s a quick read and well worth the $15 in paperback. My copy is so bent and dog-eared and highlighted it’s almost vulgar. A sign of a well-read book. 🙂

    • I’ve heard of it.

      I tend to buy second-hand from Amazon. Sometimes I can pick up a paperback for under three dollars in `like new` condition.

      I`ll put it on my Christmas list. 🙂

  2. I just love craft books, they’re so inspiring. Those moments when the light bulb switches on in your head are incredible. 🙂

  3. I have about three books which cover Topics on writing for children. The Writer’s Guide to Crafting Stories for Children by Nancy Lamb (Writers Digest), Writing Great Books for Young Adults by Regina Brooks, Adventures in Fantasy by John Gust (Grades 5-9). Love this books! I think I have a fourth one somewhere but after moving to another flat, I can’t find it 😦

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

