Post Boxes and Me

Everyone that knows me knows I live near the US-Canadian border. In many ways I have the best of both worlds. As long as I follow the rules I can do whatever I want in either place.

For example I can buy gas down in The States for $1.21 per litre instead of $1.36 a litre up here. I save because the dollar is at par right now.

Ten minutes and I’m across the border.

Blogging and entering in giveaways is part of my weekly fun. But because I am in Canada I can’t always participate in everything. Being in Canada puts me in the international realm. It was how the world worked and I was fine with it but what about if I run a giveaway.3025438

And I plan to have four in December.

Blogging is about networking. That’s why so many writers do it. Now I saw glitches in my networking plan. I’ve lived with the border all my life and have accepted its limitations, but I wasn’t about to accept a barrier.

Then it dawned on me.

Get a United States post office box. So I did. I know it sounds dishonest, but it’s not. I used my real address in town and signed all the proper documents. Showed my Canadian passport and driver’s license.  Didn’t lie or pull a fast one.

It’s completely legal.

So this means the barriers are down, but there is more . . .

There is no high postage, or trying to get something over the border for any of my contacts. That is my deal and it’s not anyone’s responsibility but mine. I’ve simplified my life. Ah, and it feels good.

Any news you’d care to share. Please leave a comment. I’d love to hear what you’ve been up to this week. 🙂

Sorry about the ads. To avoid them I need to pay for an upgrade.

22 responses to “Post Boxes and Me

  1. I didn’t know you lived in Canada or right on the border. That’s pretty cool that you can be in one country one minute and the other the next. I didn’t realize how difficult living in Canada would be concerning giveaways. Well everything worked out for the best! Cute picture (:

  2. What a great idea, Em! Sounds like you’ve found the loop hole. Good on you.

  3. You mentioned the Kindle Fire. I’ve been trying ti win one for over a year! I wish you much luck and hope we don’t enter the same giveaways!
    That was an excellent idea with the P.O. Box. Now you can feel free to enter giveaways and have them too!
    I try to have giveaways for US/Canada and INT but sometimes it depends on the author. I’ve went so far as to have the author send the books to me so I could make it International. I know how you feel.

  4. Oh so clever!!
    Wish I could do the same, but Australia is a little far to pop on over to the PO Box 😉

  5. Wow. I’d love to live on or near a border that I could drive over. Imagine going to another country for lunch!!!!! Here in Oz our whole coastline is our border so for every direction we go to cross the border, we end up in the ocean.

    • I’ve gone to the States for lunch or some shopping, but I can’t say I’ve gone for lunch so I could in the ocean. All those waves might ruin my appetite. 🙂

      And I feel the change of country as soon as I pass through the border. Security is getting tighter all the time.

  6. I wish I live near the border…. The PO box sounds like a dream come true 🙂
    BTW, Good luck with the kindle giveaway 🙂
    Ruty@Reading…Dreaming

  7. Nice. 😀 Yeah it’s not easy to win stuff if one isn’t in the US or Canada. International giveaways are rare — for physical copies and stuff like Kindle giveaways. I’m packing my stuff and moving next door to you..:D Okay, jokes aside. Good luck with the giveaways!! 🙂

  8. Clever woman! This is why woman should rule the world..bwahahaha!

  9. I think it is a fabulous idea and I don’t see it as lying or cheating, the person mailing is still just mailing somewhere within the US so why not?

  10. A perfect solution. I had to get a UPS box for all my blogging wins and books sent to me because my local post office has thieves that were taking about 75% of all my packages. I provided proof but they said they wouldn’t do anything about it. They didn’t care. Oh, the drama.

    • Thanks for the warning. There is only one woman working there that I know of. It is a small place just south of nowhereville called Danville Wa. Hopefully being in a small place will help. 🙂

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

