J Taylor Publishing is Very Very Good to Me

Blog Tour is coming up in December and I’m so excited. To celebrate I’m having a giveaway each week of December. I didn’t do this alone, besides my co-authors there was the team at J. Taylor Publishing. They have a system–very professional and very simple. And after One More Day, I know what is expected of me as an author.

I’m grateful. I’m shy by nature and each stage was a challenge for me. Mostly, I was afraid. I didn’t want to let anyone down.

First thing was keeping my trap shut about signing the contract. JTP wanted to build the excitement, so I had to wait for the press release. My parents were ready to shout it from the rooftops and I should have let them when the time came. But image was everything to me, I didn’t want to come across as an egomaniac.

Then the cover reveal came along. As you know, I needed to ask as many bloggers as possible if they would help spread the word and post the reveal. Strange, I felt awkward, and I did ask some. I didn’t want to come across as a bragger. Lucky for me J. Taylor Publishing also has a long list of bloggers. I still held back, but not as much as I did with the press release.

Next time I’m compiling a list and asking everyone on it. I would and do post for any one of my friends. I don’t think twice about it. Being on the other side of the coin was an eye opener and I’m more gracious with requests now that I understand what it means. What it feels like.

Next time I’m asking. Like I said I’ve learned a lot.

Posting an excerpt and digital tchotchke was also an eye opener. I had a contest J Talyor Publishingand will have others in December to help promote our anthology. I think I’m finally catching on. Writing is something I know. I sought out the information I needed to improve and over time I did get better.

Promoting, networking, and blogging are the same. I’m going to make an effort to keep on learning how it’s done. Some blogs I visit make me feel like I’ve been transported to another place. I’d like to do the same for my visitors, and when some people tweet, its like I’m sitting with them over a cup of coffee. I want to be able to do that.

What do you do to improve your blogging? You’re promoting? Shout it out. I would love to read all about it.

15 responses to “J Taylor Publishing is Very Very Good to Me

  1. Anna, I am thrilled for you!!! I know the first time being published is a scary, yet exciting event. I’m no pro by any means, but it does get easier each time. J. Taylor has a wealthy of information at its authors’ fingertips and each person is very willing to help. In this age of self and indie publishing, help is a commodity we all can, and must, afford to give and receive

  2. Wow, your publisher sounds really great. I’m so happy for you, Em. I look forward to reading the Anthology, 🙂

  3. Sounds awesome!! And in terms of promotion, I comment on other blogs. I think that’s key.

    Sarah Allen
    (From Sarah, with Joy)

  4. I agree they seem to be a great agency. I do tours for them often and have never had an issue with them and I have loved all the books I have tried so far.

  5. Congratulations. I am very happy for you. I wish you much success!! Any time you would like help, I am only a click away. Have a fantastic weekend.

  6. You really have a great publisher. My friend got published and her experience was a nightmare. I have done a lot of blog tours with J. Taylor. They are great.

    • I’ve heard a few horror stories myself. But JTP was recommended by a friend and when they did the call for submission and I couldn’t resist. 🙂

      So glad a gave it a shot.

  7. Hi, just to let you know, a few of your posts that have come through my email appear to have lost their links? When I click on them, it says the page is not found x

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

