Hitting The Sweet Spot. No, It’s Not Erotica–It’s Writing

How to get there?

Start typing, and hold nothing back?

Yes, but there is more. I prepare, plan, deciding what my scene’s goal is, what does the protag’s want and how the antag going to interfer or stop him. Fact is, I work best when I’m working within a framework. It doesn’t have to be detailed but it does have to goals, conflict and sense of direction.

Don’t stop.

Think of it as wringing out a soaked cloth. I know what I need to write about. My framework is clear in my mind. Focusing on the scene, the beginning is all too easy. The cloth is damp and dripping, so wringing the water out takes little effort as the basics of what I want to say pour from me.

When it seems like I’ve written everything down, I find there is still water in the cloth. I need to squeeze harder, reach further to get every drop out. I don’t stop moving forward. No, not even if I go off the mark. Pausing only long enough to make a note: trying again. I’m back at it, starting again, or deepening the intensity.

The Sweet Spot

If it happens, it happens when I get in this zone. I feel like I’m getting into a white-water river raft. Here my writing surprises me, thrills me, and flows like water over river stone. All is see is the rushing water. I slow it down into a crystal clear moment in my mind’s eye and capture every last drop of my imagination. eye of providence illustration

IΒ  zero in on faces, crawl into player’s heads and read their mindsβ€”feel their feelings. Rewind and play things again and again, but this time players say what they want to say. It’s something much more provocative/annoying/confrontational. They do it on their own. Somehow I’m gone and they’ve taken over.

It’s a rush.

The rush is worth it.

I’ve only hit this mindset a few times, but let me tell you there is no other place in the world I’d rather be. It’s alive, and I’m alive with it. It’s the source of all creativity. A place of freedom, of fearlessness, where there is nothing left to do, but let go.

And when the ride is over, the cloth is bone dry and I’m exhausted. It makes being human–wonderful, incredible; and being a writer the only profession for me.

10 responses to “Hitting The Sweet Spot. No, It’s Not Erotica–It’s Writing

  1. I so love this post, Em!! Especially the post title..LOL . Catchy. I’m not much of a planner, but I think I do the same as you. Get inside the character’s head, and let loose. πŸ™‚ Then go back later and intensify the details, emotions.
    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!

    πŸ™‚

  2. Love the title!! You’ll get a lot of hits on that alone. πŸ™‚ The article is very informative, too. We are very similar in many ways. I knew there was a reason I liked you so much. πŸ™‚

  3. Great title and post. Happy holidays!!

  4. Wonderful post, Em. Happy holidays.

  5. I’ve always thought words can be better than sex! LOL
    Happy Holidays!

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

