Happy Valentine’s Day from Terri Rochenski

Book of magic fire. Horizontal background

~~oOo~~

bookcover wskI really wanted to be part of the Fire and Ice Blog Hop with Ali @ My Guilty Obsession and lucky for me I have several romance writers in my life. For the next few days let’s tap their source of inspiration, and read their reflections on Valentine’s Day.

~~oOo~~

Please welcome Terri Rochenski, author of Alone No More:

What I do for my Valentine

Valentine’s Day used to be a dozen roses delivered to my work and being the envy of the office. It used to be candlelit dinners, the quiet sharing of our day over a meal I didn’t have Tracey Hanlon Photographyto make. It was gifts and long love making whenever and wherever we wanted.

Then came kids.

Roses? Dinner out? Um … no. I can’t remember the last time THAT happened. Besides, it’s cheaper to eat at home when you’re saving for three college tuitions.

Chocolates? A bottle of vino? In my dreams. If any candy or goodies comes home in the hub’s hands, it’s for the little girls. Or himself.  😉

I at least make it a point to pick out the best card I can find, one that says exactly what I’m thinking—about our every growing love, how blessed I am to have found him, and other such sappy words that bring tears to my eyes. If I’m feeling especially driven, perhaps I’ll bake some cookies and have our girls decorate them with pink frosting and sprinkles.

Quiet time comes after the girls & the Little Man are in bed and sleeping, but by that time my own eyelids are heavy, my body and mind ready to shut down.

Love making? We steal intimate moments when we can, just not as much or always in the ways we used to.

Do I wish for days long past? Would I change things?

No. I have the love of my life with me, and he’s given me the best gifts ever—three little yummies.

So these days it’s an exchanging of cards, a stolen smooch to make the girls giggle, and remembering how blessed we are to have found each other.

How about you? Enjoy any special Valentine’s Day traditions? Love those sappy cards?

~~oOo~~

Terri’s list of works:

Eye of the Soul | Make Believe | Alone No More | Winter’s Sweet Kiss

Terri’s contact info:

Website | Facebook | Twitter

14 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day from Terri Rochenski

  1. Aw, Terri, you made me well up. Definitely sounds like you’ve found your man!

  2. Happy Valentine´s Day to you toooo!

  3. It’s the stolen moments that bring it all back and the little things. Reaching over to hold hands, a little wink, an unexpected hug:)

  4. A simple glance can have us cracking up. We are not the kissy face type of couple, but the laughter we share brings sunshine to our day. Thanks for the lovely post Terri.

  5. Lovely post, Terri. 🙂 I usually start the day with giving my kiddies extra hugs, then later on, chocolates. 🙂 Last year they surprised me with flowers. 🙂
    Happy Valentines to you, and Em too. 🙂

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

