Happy Valentine’s Day from Claire Gillian

Book of magic fire. Horizontal background

13057705

~~oOo~~

I really wanted to be part of the Fire and Ice Blog Hop with Ali @ My Guilty Obsession and lucky for me I have several romance writers in my life. For the next few days let’s tap their source of inspiration, and read their reflections on Valentine’s Day.

~~oOo~~

Please welcome Claire Gillian, author of The P.U.R.E.:

arrow011It’s almost that time of year, when little kids learn that politics are more important than the true expression of sentiment, when couples declare silent challenges to each other to top last year’s valentine and when Janice Ian reminds us of valentines that never came.

Just. Say. No.

  • To creepy flying babies brandishing sharp pointy weapons;
  • To garish red envelopes you can’t read the writing upon;
  • To overpriced boxes of chocolates containing three pieces worth eating dooming the remainder to finger punctures on the underside or mini nibbles on the edges;
  • To cards that sing, squeak, play techno or any other tinny sounding maudlin tunes, ESPECIALLY love songs;
  • To smarmy “Lovers’ Specials” that are marked up just because they can be.

flcouple007Wh-what? You’re probably wondering, “Doesn’t she write romance? How can she be such a… an anti-love curmudgeon?”

Answer:ย  I’m not anti-love. I’m just not fond of Valentine’s Day because it’s fake, phony, a big fat marketing lie to make the popular feel smug and the unpopular feel like lepers.

The nonsense starts young, in elementary school (or earlier) with those punch out Valentines and their tiny, ill-fitting envelopes. Most schools have dictated a love-all or love-none policy to prevent hurt feelings. Never mind that popularity is not the same thing as love.

Well, guess what, girlfriend? Despite asking you to “be mine”, not everyone loves you. Even worse, most boys will <em>never</em> love you. Just as well, because not every boy willย  cause a riot of free falls and roller coaster dips with a single glance or casual touch. Most boys will never make every molecule in your body wake up and stretch toward him like a shopping cart-bound child in the candy aisle. You deserve all those wonderful feelings.

But it only takes one–

One to curl your toes.

One to jolt your heart into a quickstep.

One to flood every crevasse of your soul and mind with a yearning of want and need that won’t be satisfied with a card or chocolate or rose.

Because true proof of love can’t be bought in a store, or boxed up in ribbons and wrappings. It comes when it comes, in a one size fits one.

I knew I loved my husband when I saw him clearing snow off my car before he left for work one snowy Saturday morning. He had no idea I was watching him through my kitchen window. He gave expecting no thanks or reciprocity or “aww’s” from onlookers.

That one tiny gesture has meant more to me in our twenty-three years together than any Valentine’s Day gift or card he’s ever given me, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

val020

red background editedClaire Gillian is the pen name for a number-crunching executive by day and a darkly romantic curmudgeon by night. Her debut novel, The P.U.R.E. was released in April 2012. She also writes fifty shades naughtier stuff under the pen name of Lila Shaw, but please donโ€™t tell her mother. No matter which name she uses, Claire is happiest penning romance drenched in humor with a dash of intrigue and loads of spice.

Claire lives in the boggy Pacific NW with her husband and two teen-aged sons.

~~oOo~~

Claire’s list of works:

Tidal Whispers | The P.U.R.E. | Purely Relative | Clockwork Nessie

Claire’s contact info:

Website | Facebook | Twitter

13 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day from Claire Gillian

  1. I enjoyed reading your wonderful post Claire. Thanks Anna and Claire for sharing.

  2. This was so beautiful. I agree; it’s the small things that show true love – starting the car for you on a cold morning, so you don’t have to, changing the oil in your car, buying your favoring foods, just because…michelle_willms at yahoo dot com

    • Sorry Michelle, you got lost in my spam folder. Let me set you free.

      I have nothing to add to your comment. I feel the same way. Some of us are luckier than most. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for coming by.

  3. I think many people feel the same way even I have at one point. But, I think if you bake some cupcakes or go out for a picnic or do a simple gesture like your husband did for you all those years ago for your partner than it can be a lovely holiday.

  4. Dexter Klemperer

    Dang it! Wish I had known it was that easy to please women (brushing snow off the car). But then again I always lived in places where it doesn’t snow much. Oh well, I probably would have blown it by asking for money after dusting off someone’s car.

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

