Happy Valentine’s Day from Julie Belfield

Book of magic fire. Horizontal background

perf5.250x8.000.indd

~~oOo~~

I really wanted to be part of the Fire and Ice Blog Hop with Ali @ My Guilty Obsession and lucky for me I have several romance writers in my life. For the next few days let’s tap their source of inspiration, and read their reflections on Valentine’s Day.

~~oOo~~

Please welcome Julie Belfield, author of Blue Moon:

February 14th. Valentine’s Day—a day for lovers.headshot Julie B

My favourite February 14th memory isn’t actually to do with the fact it was Valentine’s Day, though. It has far more to do with where we happened to be and why.

You see, in November of 1994, Mr B dropped the big question. It was a very subtle conversation, which went something along the lines of …

Mr B: What do you think about getting married?

Me: Hmmm, what do you think?

Mr B: I think it’s time.

Me: Okay.

Mr B: When?

Me: Let me get my diary … hmm, I have Valentine’s week off, so how about the weekend before then?

Mr B: That’s what … three months? Sounds good.

And the wedding was booked.

So, as you’ve probably guessed, my fondest VD memory is of 1995, when Mr B and I were on our honeymoon. We had no money to go away with—and I mean NO MONEY! But we suggested to folk that some cash might be an appropriate wedding gift and explained that we intended to spend it on celebrating and the house, and our family and friends did us proud.

So on February 13th, after getting wed on the 11th, we headed off in a borrowed car to the pen-mar-guest-housewest coast of Wales, booked ourselves into a B&B/Italian restaurant called Pen Mar, and burrowed ourselves away from real life for a few days. We were one of two couples staying at the place, and we drove and investigated the coast, strolled around holding hands and window shopping, and ate like kings (queen, in my case). The B&B we stayed at also ran a restaurant in the evenings, and the first night I had the most amazing minted lamb chop I have tasted to date—man, my mouth is watering just thinking about it. And then, on Valentine’s Day, Mr B whisked me off to a restaurant all decked out in red hearts and frills, and heaving with lovers all staring gooey-eyed at each other over their tables … and it was so much fun, I loved every second of it.

Mr & Mrs BSo, yeah, Valentine’s Day isn’t what Valentine’s Day is all about for me. It’s about remembering that those few short days that week, 19 years ago, when Mr B and I began as we hoped to go on. I think us still being here and happy this many years later just might be proof that we pulled it off.

What does Valentine’s Day mean for you?

~~oOo~~

Julie’s list of works:

Blue Moon | Caged | Darkness & Light | Eternal | Fated Encounter | Instinct

|Into the Unknown | Make Believe | Resonance |

Julie’s contact info:

| Website | Twitter | Facebook |

11 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day from Julie Belfield

  1. Fun, fun, and Congrats to both of you for holding on to 19 years of bliss.

  2. Oh, Julie. What a smashing wedding photo. I adore your outfit–so wonderfully vintage-looking. 🙂

  3. Thanks so much for having me on the blog, Anna. ♥

  4. Congratulations and thanks for sharing your story. ^_^

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

