3 Places to Find Reveiwers

So everyone that is anyone knows that the Portals anthology release is June 5th, what you may not know is that we are looking for reviewers.Β  If you’d like to sign up here’s the link.

A few weeks back I decided to apply myself and hunt down some reviewers myself. We — the other authors and myself — needed to get the word out. Here is what I did to find reviewers:

Twitter

I went through all my follow/follower listed. I clicked each tweep with a website/blog and looked for their review policies. Then email or filled out a form.

Blogs I knew

I’ve posted cover reveals, spotlights, and blitzs to help promote other’s books. So I felt it wasn’t out of line to ask some of my fellow bloggers. Not many responded but no one was unsupportive. And I did get some sign ups.

Blogs I Visit Occasionally

Here I needed more nerve. Sometimes I had commented on their site, but many a time I didn’t. I checked for a review policy listed in their menu and when I found it I took a long hard look and followed their guidelines.

Avoided

I avoided anyone I didn’t know well and didn’t have a review policy, fellow authors and anyone that had all ready signed up through my publisher. My first concern was being a pest; I didn’t want to go there. The second was just trying to be kind; too many trolls misunderstand the support among writers and think we are all about selling books–good or not. The last group had all ready signed on or opted out.

Review Policies

I found them in the drop down menus and what a blessing they are. They let you know if there are any restrictions like genre. They include guidelines to follow so you can supply exactly what the blogger needs. They also state clearly whether the blogger is open to a review request.

When I found someone right for me, I didn’t feel shy about asking. They knew I wasn’t a spammer which was such aΒ  huge relief.

Not all of them accepted and I was good with it. Rejection is part of the gig.

Positive Response

I can’t say it was an overwhelming response but there were some positives and that meant I succeed in getting more reviews. I’m proud of my work.

Being Grateful

I was completely aware that I was asking for a favor. Don’t misunderstand — I was only asking for an honest review. The favor was asking for someone to take the time out of their lives to read something they weren’t sure of and share their opinion with the world. To all that have signed up — Thank you.

The Latest About The ARCs

They should be sent out any day now. Please be patient with us.

Have I forgotten anything? I’ll take any advice on how to improve my begging, uhm requesting skills. What have you got? πŸ™‚

25 responses to “3 Places to Find Reveiwers

  1. terrirochenski

    What have I got?? THE ARCs of Portals. πŸ˜‰ Contact Roane’s marketing department if you’re interested!

  2. Lol.. begging skills. i think you covered everything. Reading the review policies is very important. it shows you as the requester pays atttention to detail and not just email the blogger just because they review. great post Em! πŸ™‚

  3. sherry fundin

    Got my copy of Portals and look forward to reading and reviewing it. I think your post should be read by all authors looking for reviews. I love someone that does their research and uses my name. ^_^

  4. I’ll be happy to take a look if you don’t mind waiting for the review sometime in June. I’ve got a few tight deadlines right now so I don’t want to commit to something before then.

  5. These are all good tips, and don’t be discouraged if you don’t get a reply and try again for the next book. I get 6-12 requests a day, delete those that don’t follow guidelines and review ones that do…but even at that I may only accept 1 -3 a week, since I am booked solid. Ooo and if you know blogger and comment on their blog regularly then address them with that. “Hello xxxx, it’s me (username) I follow your blog, and would love for you to review my book…yada, yada, yada. Connections are important! If I know you I am more likely to consider your book, or if an author I worked with referred you.

  6. Normally I’m happy to help out with reviews, especially if they are anthologies, but I’m super busy right now and my TBR list is getting almost out of hand 😦 Sounds like you have all the bases covered though

    • Lynda, I completely understand. And you’re right; the group of us have reached out. We’ll be fine.

      Thanks for the thought and I hope you make it to the end of this project of yours in one piece. Every now and then I send positive energy hoping it helps. πŸ™‚

  7. I got mine!! Can’t wait to get started. Now that you’ve mentioned review policies, I feel the need to check mine and see if it needs to be updated. Following the guidelines and using my name are very important to me.

    • The guidelines saved me more than once. Thanks to you and blogs like yours I could put my nervousness in my back pocket and actually ask.

      Thanks, Laura πŸ™‚

  8. jenniferbielman

    As a writer too, I would do exactly what you did to find reviewers. As a blogger, having review policies are so important. You would be surprised by how many authors don’t follow the review policy. Like 70% in my experience. It helps weed out review requests though. I get like 2-5 a day so it can be daunting.

    • I’m beginning to think there is lesson to be learned here. We need to follow guidelines when we submit as well. I hope the percentages are better in that case.

      Food for thought. πŸ™‚

  9. I get nervous approaching authors (even still after a couple of years under my belt) so I can only imagine that it works both ways as well although I never considered it before.

    Glad you are having success in getting review. πŸ˜‰

  10. Sounds like you’re doing it right. ^_^ I’ve seen the lists on peoples’ Twitter feeds that are nothing but sending the same request over and over to different people. Glad you took a different approach, hope all goes well with the reviews.

  11. Excellent post! I’m nervous about approaching authors, so it’s nice to know that you feel the same way about approaching reviewers. And I thought your review request was practically perfect, and so much better than the majority I receive! I’m looking forward to reading it!

  12. I got my ARC last week πŸ™‚ Thanks for contacting me and for always visiting my site.
    I will read it ASAP πŸ™‚
    Best
    Ruty@Reading…Dreaming

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

