Stitch Done and Mounted

Remember this:stitch3Well, now it looks like this:

IMG_20140719_161521609 Thanks to Bossman who has the patience and hand & eye coordination required toΒ  square it on the mounting board.

Some of you might think that this took a long time to complete. Trust me a few months on a project is nothing. I have one project that is still in progress.

I started a Christmas stocking for my son over twenty years ago. It’s almost done. Every New Years I swear this will be the year I finish it.

Some logic there, huh?

Nope just guilt and a bit of gentle teasing from Bossman. Here it is:

 

IMG_20140720_150307It doesn’t look twenty-something, now does it?

To see it in better detail double click on the pic. You’ll see that the piece is twenty-eight holes per inch, which is really fourteen stitches per inch. I love the detail. Let’s hope the other stocking won’t take this long.

Yes there is another stocking in my future and I’ll be starting it in the near future. It’s for me. I’m hoping they stay in the family as a keepsake throughout the generations to come.

Anyway. This is a thank you to all of you for your support. I think it turned out quite nicely. Give yourselves a pat on the back, since I can’t quite reach. And note that your job of urging me on will never be complete while I have a project on the back burner. πŸ™‚

23 responses to “Stitch Done and Mounted

  1. Congrats, it’s beautiful. Nice to have someone to help with the mounting, too πŸ™‚ Good luck with the stocking. That detail is mind-boggling.

  2. Gorgeous detail on both of these! I can see why it has taken some time to complete (or almost complete) them. I tried cross stitching ages ago and I was okay at it but not great. I am sure it is one of those things that with time and lots of practice (and patience which I can sometimes lack) you get better at it.

  3. “I started a Christmas stocking for my son over twenty years ago. It’s almost done. Every New Years I swear this will be the year I finish it”

    Ha! Sounds like my first story. I’ve been working on my Hogwarts fan fiction for six years now and every year I say it will be done by Christmas. I’m getting closer, but I don’t know if it will be done by this Christmas or not.

  4. It is beautiful and I love the Christmas stocking as well.

  5. sherry fundin

    That’s awesome, Anna. I think it’s great to have projects. I think your process is great, sounds a bit familiar. I look forward to seeing the finished stocking. ^_^
    sherry @ fundinmental

  6. I’m deeply impressed. Both pieces are beautiful.

  7. jenniferbielman

    Wow, both a very beautiful!

  8. You’ve been tagged in a blog hop! Just answer the same 4 questions I’ve answered in this post here: http://bagladylulu.com/2014/07/24/blog-hop/ and then “tag” 2 or 3 of your favorite creative people! Have fun! πŸ™‚

  9. What a work of art! Great job. I giggled when you said it took 20 years to complete the Christmas stocking. My mind flashed to how the stocking would fit him if he’s all grown up. I must have missed the idea completely thinking you were making sox for him for Christmas!! Really appreciate your finished project.

  10. Tis beautiful Em. You do good work!

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

