WISG #4 – The Waiting Game

This post was written for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group where we share our encouragement or insecurities on the first Wednesday of the month, to join the group or find out more click here.

oOo

I’m waiting.

Rejection is surely coming, but each day I wait I keep thinking no news is good news. I do a little happy dance because I’m still in the running. Yes, I’m keeping positive and I’m not sure why.

Oh, I know. My story is probably sitting in the slush pile all the while the acquisition editor or their assistant is pushing it aside and looking at a title that is slightly more catchy title than mine. Or I have one advocate that is battling with the rest to have it included in the upcoming anthology. Maybe, they want to look at some more, because something better might come along.

This is one of those times when I live up to my name — emaginette. I’m imagining every possibility. Running through so many scenarios that I’m making myself laugh, pushing the thoughts away, and working on another story.

So every morning I’m feeling pretty good after checking my email. But I doubt I’ll get three acceptances that would be too much. So I keep expecting my rejections. Much more realistic. I’m so grounded right now I even wonder if it will bother me.

oOo

And one came not long after drafting this post. I expected to hurt a bit more than I do. This rejection came from Tor.com. I went for the brass ring with this one and I think that’s why I still fee pretty good about things. All they said was:

Thank you so much for submitting to Tor.com. Unfortunately, “Minor Error” is not quite right for us. I wish you the best of luck placing it elsewhere.

 

Sweet and to the point, I wish all my rejections were like this. I hope you’ve had a good month too. πŸ™‚

71 responses to “WISG #4 – The Waiting Game

  1. Rejections are really hard. Waiting for the email I think can sometimes be harder! Keeping my fingers crossed for you.

  2. Hi Anna! I just posted my update for the group too. How are you finding the IWSG so far? Because the last couple of times I’ve posted for them, no one from the group has commented? Just wondering…
    Anyway, no one knows the sting of the constant rejections as well as another writer does. I wish you every bit of luck and strength to continue. I personally feel you need to have the hide of a rhino to withstand being in this business, don’t you?
    Carry on!

    • I love the group, but don’t always have an opinion on the subject matter posted on the blog hops. Still a little shy about sharing. I’m sure you know how it is, but I’ll make more of an effort this month–I promise.

      I think I’ll carry on as you say. I caught the writing bug big time. Now the submitting is more tricky and I’m so glad there is a group like this. It’s people like you that help me when I feel shaky.

      I’d like to offer the same support. πŸ™‚

      • Bless!
        Then, after saying that, I discovered one of the co-hosts of the group had left a message on my blog! So I’ll have to retract my words! πŸ™‚
        I’m glad to offer new writers like you support. You’re doing great!

  3. Hi Anna!! Rejections suck, I know. I’ve already experienced a couple of those with some of my short stories. It took me forever just to put them out there. I’m crossing fingers and toes for you too. I know how hard you work; success will come to you in time. Always in my thoughts. πŸ™‚

  4. Rejection is never easy. Glad Tor wasn’t brutal about it. Some letter I’ve received have stung a bit. Good luck waiting.

  5. I am not looking forward to that point when I start actually sending my words out to people who will be in places to reject them. Right now I’m just posting on my blog… and all those people who don’t like the story I write are simply silent… but when I begin actually sending materials to places where I will receive letters telling me that what I write is not what they want… Frightening! I know I will sit and imagine it all, and probably work myself into a mess (good or bad… it will be a mess).

  6. Awww, but you have a great attitude. I feel confident you will succeed.

    sherry @ fundinmental

  7. I believe someone said you have to be rejected x number of times before you get accepted, so each rejection gets you one closer to that acceptance.

  8. My post was on rejection too! If you’re going to be a writer, you have to get used to it even if you get published:-) Gotta get our thick skins on!

  9. I hope you’re keeping busy on other things. That helps take you mind away, if only a bit. Also, I loved James Dashner’s suggestion–for every 10 rejections, he took his wife out to dinner. Gave something positive to look forward to as part of the inevitable.

  10. How sad that you have to wait for rejections. At least this one was not as painful. I hope you get better offers in the future.

  11. I imagine the waiting would in fact be, the very hardest part of anything writing related. I wish you well and hope that you get some (good) news soon!

  12. Good Luck. Wishing you the best with your submission and waiting.
    Juneta at Writer’s Gambit

  13. Oh good god, the waiting game. It is the ABSOLUTE worst. I’m sorry you have to deal with that. Hopefully it will be worth the wait. Happy IWSG!

  14. So sorry about the rejection… been there, on submission, twice, with two different agents… gave up, decided to self-pub and I think it’s the best decision I’ve ever made. But I do know how hard ti is to wait, so keep writing, you’ll get there!!! πŸ™‚ best of luck

  15. I know what you mean as I also watch my inbox for … rejections … but maybe not, but probably rejections. Getting such a nice note from Tor.com isn’t that bad. Good luck!

  16. Rejections are a difficult but necessary evil. I’ve gotten five so far on my novel. Gearing up to send out more queries. *yeah* Oh wait, big voice! YEAH! Good luck.

  17. I’m right there with you on this one. I sent out about 20 queries at the end of June, and I’ve heard back from maybe five or six. Every time I check my e-mail, I actually kind of hope for rejection, just to know I’m not being ignored. That’s how I felt when I got one today, anyway. It’s a weird thing to look forward to, but “no” is better than silence, right?

  18. Great attitude! I usually need a tall frappe to help my rejections go down, but I like your realistic approach.

  19. Rejections are part of the process. Not everyone will love your stories. But, some will! I think you’re handling it really well. Good luck with everything.

  20. Shelly Tennyson Taylor

    Oh yes, rejections are the worst! I have had my share. You have to shake it off and move on. I can say that.. but I am having a hard time shaking off mine as well. Publication will come! Just keep on..

  21. It’s hard not to take those rejections personally, but they’re not. A lot of it is about what an agent/editor thinks will sell. And even then, the best agents/editors will sometimes get that wrong, and let go manuscripts that go on to do extremely well out in the market. I hope you get the happy news soon that you’re waiting for!

  22. Even telling ourselves it’ll be a rejection, preparing for disaster–doesn’t really prepare us, does it? It still cuts you off at the knees when that letter arrives.

  23. Hi, Anna,
    Keep sending out your work and stay positive as well. Hope for and expect the best.

  24. I love your positive attitude about waiting on submissions. You’re right–no news is potentially good news, and it doesn’t hurt to think of it that way. And you know what they say: every no is one step closer to a yes. Good luck! Don’t give up.

  25. Your name does not live up to your go getter spirit. You should rename yourself GOGETTER.
    Or something much sparkier than that!

  26. Anna, I love your attitude about rejection. At least tor bothered to send one. I really hate wondering and wondering if the sub was rejected or if they just haven’t gotten around to reading it. But finally I decided, if I the company doesn’t have the courtesy to respond in a timely fashion, then I probably would not want to do business with them anyway. I wish there were a kinder word to use instead of “rejection.” That is so harsh, but I still have not come up with a substitute. It is what it is. And in this business, it is part of the process. Don’t give up!!

  27. Hi Anna.
    Sorry about the rejection…
    Rejections suck.
    I remember the one time, when I had sent out 8 short pieces to various e-zines, all 8 rejections arrived within a 2 week time frame! OUCH! 😦
    But I’m still hanging in there! πŸ™‚

  28. Ditto all the above–rejection never gets easier. Even after you get stuff published you know you’ll have rejections in your future. I just have to tell myself, “I haven’t found the right place yet” or agent or whatever.

    Good luck!

    • Yeah this I believe. I had two acceptances on other works, so this rejection put my feet back on the ground. Rejection fixes swollen head syndrome and that’s a fact. πŸ™‚

  29. Oh man! I hate the waiting game. It’s so hard when you’ve poured your heart and soul into something you know is gold. And yes, rejections stink, but it only takes 1 yes to make it. These people are all just looking for something they’re sure they can sell, so the more marketable we make our product appear, the better our chances of landing that “yes.” Rejections stink, but they do prepare you for the sting of poor reviews. Every step along the path readies you for the next. =)

  30. Waiting is the worst. I’ve had my work rejected so often, I’m pretty thick skinned. I understand editors have certain things they’re looking for, and a rejection is often a reflection of their list rather than the quality of the work. One of the great things about having an agent is that the rejections are filtered through a sympathetic ear. πŸ™‚

    In publishing, it’s all about timing. When your manuscript hits the right editor at the right time, magic will happen. Wishing you endless success with Minor Error.

  31. Just curious, but how long did you have to wait for Tor’s rejection? I’ve heard they are notoriously slow. And yes, it’s good to stay positive when it comes to querying and submissions.

    • That’s what many a critter said. It was only weeks–more than two and less than four. As you can tell I kept incredible records.

      The length of time makes no sense to me πŸ™‚

  32. Oh goodness! The waiting game can be excruciatingly painful. Rejections do suck but all you need is that one yes . . . and you have a great attitude so that positivity will pay off. Best of luck! πŸ˜€

  33. Everyone gets them. I look at a rejection as one step closer to a yes.

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

