IWSG # 5 – Is It Wrong?

This post was written for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group where we share our encouragement or insecurities on the first Wednesday of the month, to join the group or find out more click here.

oOo

 

This post is going to be a short one. I have a free read available at Roane Publishing– click here to get the download. It seemed like a great way to promote Mexmur, The Huntress. I really, really liked the idea of writing a short prequel to Mex.

It was hard to come up with ideas, so I went to the group that had read the short and they offered some great suggestions. Lucky for me, and I was able to put it all together.

But this is where the fun ended. It was supposed to promote our writing and Roane’s first anniversary. So far it hasn’t been much of a celebration and I’ll admit I’m disappointed.

My short, Dragon Eye, is up. It went up Sept 1st, but the promotion part isn’t there. Today I was asked for a blurb and it almost brought a tear to my eye. I don’t like feeling like a cry baby or a whiner, yet that is exactly how I feel. Am I wrong?

Next Monday another group of free reads are being released. I just hope there is moreΒ fanfare for them. Don’t loose the link. Please check out the new free reads that will be posted every Monday of September.

Thanks for being there and letting me get this off my chest.

14 responses to “IWSG # 5 – Is It Wrong?

  1. Thanks for the tip Anna. Sorry it didn’t go well getting it up.

  2. Thanks for the link. I checked it out. That is really cool.

    I am a little confused. Is the disappointment for the lack of promotion that Roanne Publishing did, or for response to the free read month, or just general response to the new short story? Or is it all of that? Not knocking any of that, so get feeling the disappointment. Just a little confused with the connections, outside of the new short story.

    I offer free author hosting, if you wanted to promote on my site. I tweet and FB the stuff. I am also a member of Triberr group, and they are really good to retweet my post too. Anyway, if I can help anyway let me know.

    Wishing you much luck, promotion and fanfare for this endeavor.
    Juneta at Writer’s Gambit

    • I’m disappointed because it all started with excited hype an now that it’s here there’s little to no promotion. I’m beginning to think I misunderstood the purpose of the free read.

  3. I follow Roane and have already picked up a copy. I see it is very short, so I will see what I can do to help spread the word. I am sorry you are disappointed, but keep your chin up. You have fans! ^_^
    sherry @ fundinmental

  4. We are all humans. We have the right to feel how we feel when we feel it as long as it does not consume our personalities or who we are.

  5. Congratulations on putting your book out there, Anna! Awesome!! Don’t worry, I’ve been feeling sorry for myself all week – I’m with you, in spirit πŸ™‚

  6. I shared this post. I hope it helps! πŸ™‚

  7. I know I’m late here, but a reminder – feel free to vent…you normally feel better after a little ‘venting therapy’… πŸ™‚
    Writer In Transit

    • Thanks, I do feel shy about it. I was so disappointed. They hyped me up enough to write a free read and then acted like it wasn’t worth promoting.

      Lucky I’m mostly over it–mostly πŸ™‚

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

