NaNo Can Be Tough, What We Need is Inspiration

I have done NaNo for almost (not done yet) four years. Every year I have a plan, but I Participant-2014-Twitter-Profilealso have my doubts about making it. What if my story prompts don’t prompt? Or my idea hits a wall, peters out, and…

Well, there is no and; I just face failure.

I thought I’d write this post as much for me as the anyone.

Imagination is endless. It is the one thing that the human race has used consistently to further themselves. We are constantly growing, learning, and testing the things around us. It is the one thing that makes the human race amazing.

We are curious and that curiosity leads to discovery. I don’t mean what’s on the other side of the universe, but what is inside our minds, our thoughts. Stories. Books. Plays. Movies. Music. Pretending. All these things come from the human mind. It holds me, cradles me, fills me with wonder.

You and I are a part of this. That’s why we had the brilliant idea that we would write 50k in 30 days. Before we began we felt it and knew that our imaginations are forever filling with amazing thoughts, wild thoughts, thoughts that must be written down and preserved. We knew it then and if we relax and breathe, we’ll be able to tap into it again.

Breath.

Relax.

Close your eyes.

Do you see it?

A little light in the darkness.

As you get closer you can see movement.

What are they doing?

What is happening?

Okayβ€”go write something fabulous.

39 responses to “NaNo Can Be Tough, What We Need is Inspiration

  1. Knock ’em dead, Anna.

  2. You can do it. Emaginette is your handle. I think you have a great imagination! Go for it!

  3. Anna, you can do it!
    I’ve NEVER done NaNo, but maybe one day…who knows…I haven’t ruled out the possibility…it does scare me though, I have to be honest…

  4. Hats off to you for taking part of this adventure for the fourth time! wow!
    My problem is that I always get to a point where I have to stop and think. And after I think I often scratch what I’ve written so far and start over. That’s why I’ve never signed up for nano. the first book I wrote, the first draft cam all out at an even higher word rate than what required for nano. But then that first draft went through 3 more rewrites. So now I take my time and think a lot in between chapters. I’d rather take my time and not to have restart over and toss thousands of words. But I know many writers whose books just come out during nano and all they need to do is edit and they have a great book. So I guess we’re all different, but nano is not for everyone. So don’t beat yourself up, if this is your fourth time already, you should be really proud. I’m certainly impressed! πŸ™‚

    • Oh, there will be major revisions in my future and I expect completely rewriting some parts. The thing I find most fascinating is if I push the last 500 words to meet my daily word count sometimes my characters do something brilliant. I’m surprised and delighted at least once a week.

      It only happens during NaNo. πŸ™‚

  5. I wish I had the talent to write something fabulous because your post was very inspiring Anna! I will leave the imagination and true writing to those that actually have the talent. πŸ˜‰

  6. Your post is PERFECT! It is exactly what I needed to hear. Thank you. And thank you for the comment on my blog.

  7. Have you tried doing laundry? There is something about the concreteness of it that relaxes. Or is it the cloying scent of the dryer sheets that knocks the imagination loose? In any case, I admire your stick-to-it-tiveness and know that something wonderful is on its way!

  8. You’re half way there–keep it up!

  9. Sometimes the best part of Nano is getting all these ideas down on paper so they aren’t lost. It doesn’t matter so much if you hit the final word count or not. Good Luck with the writing.

  10. I admire your bravery. I’ve never had the guts to do Nano so I’ll have to live vicariously through you, Anna! You’re nearly there πŸ™‚

  11. I’m going to cheer you because I totally fell out of the running. Too much happening around here for me to really get that dedicated. There will come a season…

    Unleashing the Dreamworld

  12. So true! I felt like I was hitting a wall the other day, but then I stepped back and thought — okay, there’s this space where I know things happen. I know I probably wont end up with what’s happening actually being played out in the final cut but..what is happening? Cue a couple thousand words and far better understanding of my characters. I just needed to look at things a bit differently, step back, breath, and try something new.

  13. I feel like I have these amazing stories to write but I never find the time. I have only ever done NaNo twice. Once, I hit my goal, the other time I didn’t. It’s like the older I get, the less time I have to squeeze out a book that fast.

    • According to some of my writing buddies every month can be a NaNo month–unofficially of course. Do what works. Do what makes you happy. Write those amazing stories πŸ™‚

  14. Great post. I’m not officially participating in NaNo (since I was in the middle of a project when it started), but I have used it to motivate me to write every day. I’m happy to say my word count has steadily increased at a very nice rate.

  15. Thanks for this bit of encouragement, Anna. If we can dream it, we can indeed make it a reality. Sounds like craziness, but I’ve reaped wonderful rewards from NaNo.

  16. You can do it!!!
    Best of luck with your goal πŸ™‚
    Ruty@Reading…Dreaming

  17. Looks like you finished, according to your sidebar. Congratulations! (Sorry if I read it wrong.) I hope you keep on going and get more words down!

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

