Marketing: Where to Begin?

Before marketing anything there are things that need to be addressed.

First build a reputation that I’m able to write a component and entertaining book. Best sellers are an eleven on the one-to-ten reputation scale. Because I have some credits and free reads available, I’m on the scale somewhere. Fingers crossed where that might be. With my book coming out in November I’m hoping that will be enough to encourage some readers to take a chance.tree-151444

Secondly, recognize my target audience. I know them well. They are the people I thought of when writing and submitting White Light. I pictured mystery lovers that prefer underdog heroes and puzzle pieces offered up in a challenge to beat them to the solution. They were fun loving adults with a sense of humor, looking for escape.

I’m looking for people I value, and hopefully value me–or maybe my writing.

Thirdly, find my readership?

I know that people gather in groups. Go to the mall, or a boat show and I’ll be in a crowd. What I need to do is find my target audience, and step into the spotlight holding my book. My face burns at the thought.

Ready or not, here I go.

• Approach the bookish sites I follow to keep in the loop.
• Shout out down the social media avenues I enjoy.
• Approach bookish blogs I go to for the latest reviews and ask the big question.
• Join a book club or two? I’ll have to work on that one. 🙂social-367942_1280

I’m not sure I afford it, but I’m looking at advertising with a local magazine, newspaper, or the one and only local radio station. I’ve offered to do a book signing or reading at my favorite bookstore–way out of town–and the local library. I plan to offer to speak on career day at the school.

It will take time, so I don’t plan to throw out a few hundred dollars, expecting massive sales. Instead, I’ll offer my time, hoping as the world gets to know me, word will spread in a positive way.

Gleaned from:

30 responses to “Marketing: Where to Begin?

  1. Good luck with your marketing. I’ve heard that doing a press release to your local newspaper is also a good marketing/promotion plan for authors.

  2. I am so excited for you! Happy Tuesday my friend!

  3. Good luck! What I found ot be the most effective marketing tools are some (but not all!) of the book listings that send out emails to subscribers. Some will take new releases, you pay a small fee but if the listing is one that works, you’ll get your money back. 🙂

  4. When my first print book comes out, I plan to do a book signing at my public library and the closest Barnes & Noble…if they’ll have me. I’ll also try to advertise in newspapers and magazines. Joining a book club is a good idea. I have thought of approaching some, if I can find them, to see if they’d read my book.

    Wishing you all the best with your upcoming release! And much success! 🙂

  5. Good steps. That ‘know your audience’–so easy to skip by.

  6. Yes, I’m with you, Anna, all these ‘buy my book’ ideas are way out of my comfort zone, too. One of the items not listed, is asking pals who are well-known authors if they’ll review. I started that one already, and when I get the polite ‘no’, I just about die of embarrassment every time!

    • As i writer I don’t do reviews. I’m too slanted.

      I rely on the book bloggers out there to review. They will be honest and their readers trust them already. 🙂

  7. Excellent advice as always Anna!

  8. Very concise, direct, and to the point. Sounds like a solid plan to me.

  9. Great ideas there, as always! I haven’t looked into book clubs, but it sounds like it would be a good thing to do.

  10. I don’t have a book out yet, so I haven’t had to worry about marketing much yet. The best thing is that since your book is available forever as an ebook, you don’t have to get all the marketing right at the beginning. If someone finds out about you a year from now, they can still buy your book. Good luck!

    • True, and in your case building a network will help when you’re book is ready.

      Your publisher will want to push marketing before release to build momentum, hoping to get a nice return on their investment. 🙂

  11. I linked back to this from my own post. Thank you for all of the advice. I find that locating my readership, or even finding readers, is the hardest part of all of this. Thanks for letting us in on your journey.

  12. Pingback: A Guest Blog by Avery K. Tingle | Apropos of Nothing

  13. Sounds like a solid and sensible plan.
    A press release is also advisable.
    There’s a great article on how to prepare for a press release over at the IWSG site. Here’s a link if you want to take a peek: http://www.insecurewriterssupportgroup.com/2015/08/heidi-hormel-how-to-for-press-release.html

  14. All these sound like excellent ideas. I wish I had insights on marketing, but I don’t. Everything I looked into from holding a launch party to GoodReads giveaways to attending a conference cost money. The only free road was social media and it’s littered with people hawking their books primarily to a disinterested audiences. The best advice I can offer is to go in with your eyes open and get started early, particularly with book bloggers as they’re inundated with author requests.

    VR Barkowski

  15. jenniferbielman

    Very helpful. Marketing is always harder than it seems.

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

