My NaNoWriMo History

I have participated in NaNoWriMo since 2011.

My first year I just wung it and landed up winning, and was very surprised I did. Of course you’ll notice my published works don’t include Scream on the Lake. For several good reasons. No verifiable facts included. I didn’t do a stitch of research. Because my goal wasn’t to publish it.

Which is good, because if I edited out all the bad patches, and inaccurate information the 50k would be whittled down to a shortβ€”a holey short at that.

Haha.

What’s the point?

The point is we all decide to do NaNo for different reasons. Some of us want to NaNo-2015-Participant-Badge-Large-Squarestart the habit of writing every day. Word count might not be the goal so much as the discipline. Others, like me back in 2011, may want to know if they can actually write 50k in 30 days. Some want to finish some work that has been haunting them for months.

Not all of us share the same reason.

Why are you doing NaNo?

So when you decide to do NaNo ask yourself what you want to accomplish. This is the most important part. Because no matter what the word count the success should be defined by you first and NaNo second.

And one other thing to think about. The whole world is doing this. Go in with the attitude that for one month people with the urge to write have united the world. It can be done because we are the proof it’s possible. Kinda cool, huh.

Why do you want to do NaNo this year?

41 responses to “My NaNoWriMo History

  1. That unifying factor is one of the reasons I loved doing NaNo. It gives me such a rush of creative energy!

    This year I’m doing NaNo because I want to get back to actually finishing a draft, one with a beginning/middle/end. I usually surpass the 50,000 word goal, but I don’t actually finish the story. This time it will be different! πŸ™‚

  2. I tried Nano several years ago to push myself to write a story I’d been thinking about for a while. I was halfway through when I realized there were so many problems with the plot that nothing I wrote after that would be worth keeping so I quit to work on a story that was working. Maybe one day…

  3. I love the idea of NaNo and have participated each year since 2010 but I have never reached the 50k mark even though I have a few novel-length stories I have written within a month at other points in the year (the summer months are my November).

    NaNo just doesn’t work for me. I wish I was one of the writers who can get the most out of the group write-ins, the online community, and the supportive atmosphere but writing has always been a solitary endeavour, which I think is one of the reasons I love it so much.

    I feel like such a misfit writer but every year I try again just to see if my writing practice has changed.

  4. I love the idea of NaNo and have participated each year since 2010 but I have never reached the 50k mark even though I have a few novel-length stories I have written within a month at other points in the year (the summer months are my November).

    NaNo just doesn’t work for me. I wish I was one of the writers who can get the most out of the group write-ins, the online community, and the supportive atmosphere but writing has always been a solitary endeavour, which I think is one of the reasons I love it so much.

    I feel like such a misfit writer but every year I try again just to see if my writing practice has changed.

    Here’s the link to the post I wrote about it last year. https://scribletblog.wordpress.com/2014/11/06/i-love-you-nanowrimo-but-its-over/

  5. I did Nano twice and ended up with a published books from the mish-mosh I wrote. I never achieved the 50000 word count, but still felt like a winner just by eventually completing the books and the icing on the cake was getting them published. Not doing Nano this year because my third mystery was just pubbed and I will be doing the dreaded promotion in Nov-Jan.
    Good luck wth your writing project!!

  6. Good summary. I know so many people who love this event. I will probably be on the sidelines again this year.

  7. NaNo is awesome. I’ve done it for over a decade. This year I’m sitting out, though. It makes me pout, but I lose two weeks of November to family stuff. So I’m going to do my NaNo-ing in January. Good luck! πŸ™‚

  8. I’m doing NaNo because I skipped last year and I want to start and write a rough draft to a new book to work on next year. Hopefully my current work in progress would be as polished as it can be so I can give the new work my undivided attention.

  9. My first and only year was 2009 [I think. 2008?]. But I’m working on a project right now and have been lacking discipline, so this may be the perfect year to try it again. I’m in!

  10. I’ve never completed November NaNo. This will be my 3rd year to try, if I decide to do it, I am on the fence about it, NaNo when my life is more together gives me inspiration and pushing through it keeps me writing after its over, I wrote after my first NaNo on a regular basis, so it did carry over.

    This year I am struggling with life and my writing, not sure I will react the same way to it, However, I am putting a little thought into what I might want to do, if I jump in again,

    My highest word count I think was around 18,000 for November NaNa, but I have done 25000 in the camps—I am slow, so I don’t expect to hit 50000, but I will push for it, if I decide to go for it,

    I think a more seasoned person that has a book or two already behind them would find it motivational and a jump start in the process,

    There is inspiration and excitement in knowing so many people are pushing for the same goals and building habits. They say 21 days straight of something will create a habit, I can say it definitely jump starts you and gets you on the right track,

    If you have never done November it is worth doing once–the camps in April and July too–the cabins are great fun with fellow writers.

  11. I keep saying I’ll try NaNo one year but I just seem to have so many other things going on at the same time (editing one book, revising another, writing yet another) that I know I won’t be able to focus on writing just one.

  12. Hi Olga! I haven’t been inspired to participate in NaNoWriMo so far. I write every day and research is an important part of my writing process. Not everyone is Stephen King and I don’t want any part of my writing process to suffer. But if someone thinks it will work for them, I’d say go for it.☺️

  13. Not for me..but I will be cheering everyone on.

  14. I love the idea of NaNo, but haven’t tried it yet. It never seems to come up at the right time. If I wasn’t working on the final edits and book cover, etc., for Book 2, I’d give it a go. I have a novel that I’m about three-quarters of the way through I’d love to finish. Maybe by next July…

  15. With as busy as my life is, NaNo is not a reality. I did it twice, and it took months to recover. The manuscripts were disasters too. It’s better for me to just take my time and write over long seasons.

  16. I would imagine, besides the personal achievement goals, the networking must also be one of the most rewarding parts of Nano. Good luck !!! πŸ™‚

  17. I’m doing Nanowrimo for the first time this year. November is shaping up to be a crazy month, but I’m going for it anyway. My goal is to get the first draft of my second novel well under way so that I can finish it by the end of the year, revise it in Feb/March and hopefully send it out for submissions next summer.

  18. jennifer@badbirdreads

    I did NaNoWriMo twice and not much comes out of it for me. I stopped doing it now.

  19. I love a challenge, so that keeps me going with NaNo. I refuse to “fail.” (As in, not win, but although it’s a failure to me, I don’t judge the many people who try it and find it doesn’t work for them.)

    My goal is to get most of a book finished. I’m very happy with the two books I wrote during previous NaNos. I get into a groove when I write everyday that’s extremely good for my craft.

    Good luck! I’m KickboxingWriter if you want to add me.

  20. Pingback: Let the NanoJouMo Begin! | Bag Lady Lulu

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

