My First Book Reading

Three Worlds Press, my publisher, is releasing a hard copy of White Light in February 2016.

This blows me away and leads to readings/signings which is as scary as it is exciting. I rallied long enough to ask our local library branch if they would be interested in my reading from White Light, and they were.

Later, I attended an author’s talk about the research required for a Second World bookshelf-32811_1280War historical fiction. The woman must have loved the era because she did six years of research. No way I could slog through all of that.

As I listened to the speaker, I wondered what the library would expect from me. No way I would want to talk about police procedure, body decomposition, or trace collection. Sure I have a general understanding; I’m a cozy mystery writer.

I love the clues, wacky characters that are good, good people, and justice.

My idea of entertainment is watching Murder, She Wrote reruns, or reading books written by Dame Agatha Christie, Elizabeth Peters, JD Robb, and Janet Evanovich. I understand some people don’t get murder mysteries or even cozy mysteries. These books have their charm and place on the shelves. To be a part of it, even if it’s a very small part, makes me feel good.

So I’m planning to read my work to my hometown folk and take questions on how I managed to get published. Luckily, I’ve done some public speaking and can put on my entertainer’s hat. The Grand Forks Writer’s Guild will be there to cheer me on and so will my family.

I’m not sure about this part of the marketing plan. Like with everything else I’ve tried, I know I’ll muddle through somehow, and learn from my bumps along thelotus-148879_1280 way.

Time for your success stories. Tell me what you enjoy most when signing/reading or making a speech. I’m dying to know. πŸ™‚

42 responses to “My First Book Reading

  1. It sounds like you’ve a good plan in place. Don’t worry too much – you’ll be great! πŸ™‚

  2. You’re approaching your reading with a good attitude. I’ve been lucky to have my crit partners with me as we presented a few times to groups and done signings together too. One topic was on the road to publishing because each one of us took a different path (we write different genres) and another onw was on inspiration–where we got our ideas for the stories. People seemed really into it and we all received a lot of questions after the presentation. I was amazed at how interested the folks were in our topics. Not all were aspiring writers either. Sounds like you’re pretty confident in front of a group, so you’ll do fine. Have fun with it. BTW, do not schedule a reading on a beautiful sunny day in spring…hard to get people inside after being cooped up all winter!!!

  3. Congratulations, very exciting. Happy for you. I get stage fright,so do not like being in from a crowd of strange people. Guess I will have to get over that one day.
    Juneta Writer’s Gambit

  4. Best of luck with this. It frightens me–all those unknown people. I wish I could attend to support you.

  5. I think you’ll do great Anna. Once you get started you’ll be fine:) So excited for you.
    I meant to ask. I signed up for your tour but didn’t see where to sign up for your reveal on Dec. 8th. Would love to share!

  6. Now, I want to read your book even more! I love a good, cozy mystery. You aren’t a historical writer. Different type of writer. Different type of presentation. You’ll have fun with it. People enjoy hearing where you got your ideas, how you developed your characters, your writing habits, and YOU! Congrats. And, are you in Grand Forks, ND?

  7. I had no idea you wrote cozy mysteries! I love the ones I’ve read, particularly Joanne Fluke’s series.

    You’ll do fabulous at your reading. I haven’t been lucky enough to do a reading yet, but I’ve given quite a few speeches. All I can say is that you usually won’t know how you’ve done until it’s time for people to ask questions. That’s when you see how interested they are.

  8. That is such fantastic news! Relax and enjoy the ride! Be yourself! No better place than to start at home! Good luck! You’ll do a great job Anna!

  9. I had two events at libraries–at one, only a former coworker showed up, so we got to catch up! At the second one, the library invited a bunch of people and there was an actual audience. I did a presentation on gossip and it seemed to go over fairly well. Those things TERRIFY me!

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  10. You love the same authors I do. πŸ™‚

    If I do a reading, and one day I will, I would do the same thing you plan to.

  11. I love Murder, She Wrote! I saw the original when it came out on TV. (Okay, just dated myself here.) My daughter likes mysteries, too. We’ve started watching the mystery movies on the Hallmark Movies and Mysteries channel. They’ve made movies based on the books by Joanne Fluke, Charlaine Harris, Suzi Weinert, and I forget who else. We really enjoy them.

    You’ll do fine with the reading. Anticipation anxiety is much worse than actually doing it. My favorite part of readings/signings is interacting with people, particularly if they’ve read my book and liked it. Have fun with it, regardless of how many or few people show up. Each one will be a little easier. Good luck!

  12. Sounds like a good plan! I love hearing how an author came up with a character or plot twist, but don’t like being “lectured” if that makes sense. I also like when the author takes questions from the audience. Good luck!

  13. Congrats! I am so excited for you!!

  14. Congratulations, Anna!

    I’ve never read anything aloud, but I would definitely rather read aloud than give a speech. In fact, I’d rather commit Seppuku than give a speech. That’s why I no longer teach.

    I believe there’s safety in numbers, so I prefer panels. Signing is fun. The best part is finding out about the people who read my stuff. I also enjoy talking about the writing process and about research. I do NOT like talking about my work (what this passage means, what that one symbolizes, etc).

    You’ll be grand!

  15. Sounds exciting! Congratulations.

  16. I hate public speaking (and I’m a teacher x))
    Anyway Congrats πŸ™‚ and I’m sure you will be great in the reading

    Ruty @Reading…Dreaming

  17. Haven’t made it that far in my journey yet. But I’ll get there. Good luck in the reading and have a blast.

  18. jennifer@badbirdreads

    Sounds like got it figured out. You will do great.

  19. very cool, congratulations! You’ll have a blast ! πŸ™‚

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

