Guest Post: The Or’in of Tane Mahuta,’ by Yvette Carol

Today I have a visitor, Yvette Carol. Welcome. Come on in, share what’s new in your world. 🙂

It’s true, while many of my friends have gone ahead and embraced self-publishing, it has taken me a while to let go of the old dreams of getting a traditional publishing contract. What is it they say? Old dreams die hard. Or harder, as it was in my case! At any rate, I finally did throw in the towel. I’m so glad I did, it’s been such a blessing. I have enjoyed taking control of every creative decision as to how the finished product would look. I can hold this book in my hand and know I truly made it what I wanted it to be.

It was also a mad, crazy rollercoaster ride. In the last three months, I had the book re-edited by a professional proof-reader. The extra squeaky clean book was re-launched on the 9th of December. A little over a week ago. I was very happy to have the book finished in time for Christmas.

This way, 2016 can kick off as New Year. I plan to launch my new look website with my updated author headshot sometime then, also, so hopefully it will dovetail nicely.

Thanks for having me, Anna!

Let’s take a Look:

An ordinary boy. A vicious warlord. Both seek a stone with special powers. But only one can possess the Or’in of Tane Mahuta.

About the Book:

Eleven-year-old Aden Weaver lived with his grandparents all his life, and he yearns to find out all the secrets his Papa Joe and Nana Jeen have kept from him about his parents’ death. When his grandparents agree to let him start warrior training, Aden learns more than just fighting techniques. He learns of his destiny as the Son of Kal—the first chief of the shape-shifting dragonfly tribe.

With only the advice of an ancient tutor in the art of astral travel, a physically challenged girl, and his teenage fight trainers, Aden must take on the evil Sasori Empire. Is he ready to accept the challenge and fight for the fate of the legendary Lost Island?

Purchase Link:

CreateSpace

 

About Yvette:

Yvette Carol’s enduring fascination with fantasy fiction for children inspired her debut novel, ‘The Or’in of Tane Mahuta’, the first volume in the trilogy, The Chronicles of Aden Weaver. A former journalist, Yvette has a short story in the recently released children’s anthology, Kissed by an Angel, and she had an article published in the book, The Insecure Writer’s Support Group Guide to Publishing and Beyond for 2014.

She lives with her family in New Zealand.

Author Links:

Website | Blog | Twitter | Linkedin | Slideshare | Goodreads | Facebook | Pinterest

15 responses to “Guest Post: The Or’in of Tane Mahuta,’ by Yvette Carol

  1. I’m amazed how many authors who self-pub mention autonomy as a big reason why they like it. That ability to make all our own decisions is lots more work, but seems to be well-worth it.

  2. Thank you, Anna. The post looks great!
    Yes, I know what Jacqui Murray means, autonomy is something you hear a lot. I have had one or two book deal offers along the way which I’ve had to turn down on principle. One of them, I was being offered a skinny %5 of profits, on the other, the publisher wanted to change the names of the characters. In publishing my own book, I don’t have to defend every creative decision, I own every creative decision. Viva la difference! 🙂

  3. I imagine that authors see their books as their babies so I suppose self-publishing is a better way to decide what to do with the writing, characters and more
    great post and great book

    Ruty @Reading…Dreaming

  4. Cool cover. I take it that means you have control of the final product? Hope the holidays are full of family, food and fun. 🙂

  5. Lovely cover. Sounds like a fun adventure. Congrats.
    Juneta Writer’s Gambit

  6. jennifer@badbirdreads

    Great guest post. It’s nice to have that kind of control over your book.

  7. It sounds like you’re on the right track. I redid my website to match my new ad banner…about four months ago. It was a lot of work, but once I buckled down and started, I couldn’t stop until I finished it!

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  8. Just stopping by to say congratulations on your release day, Anna!

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

