Building Cred: Deeper Dive into Marketing

Well, the blog tour ended and although it was a lot of work it was also a lot of fun. Met new people, and I did goofy things. A special thanks to all my hosts. I hope you’ll come to me when you need my help, so I can return the favor.

angelfish-303159_1280The Rafflecopter Giveaway Winners are: Mai, Stormi, and Peggy.

The next stage of my marketing plan is to seek reviews. Stop. Come back here. I’ll be asking the mystery book bloggers I found online.

Once, I suggested to a fellow writer that book bloggers are the people to approach and he shook his head. “Sounds like too much work.”

He’s not wrong. It will take a lot of time and effort to submit White Light for angelfish 2-303159_1280consideration and only after an acceptance will they post review.

I don’t mind hard work or the submission process because when I get an acceptance I’ll reach an established audience. Some people, more writer friends, think I’m putting too much effort into this.

But here’s the thing. I’m too new to be credible and I know it.

If I don’t promote or don’t believe in what I’m doing, then who will? I like my final product. I know not everyone will and understand this. Heck, if we all likedangelfish-303159_1280 the same thing there would be one ice cream, one style of unisex clothes, and the one popular book would be memorized by all of us.

So I’m diving in.

As always your feedback is welcome. If you trust a mystery book blogger, small or big, list them I’ll do the rest.

corals-154793_1280

52 responses to “Building Cred: Deeper Dive into Marketing

  1. Only one flavor of ice cream?! No. I like variety. And, you’re doing all the right things. I’ll be writing a review on goodreads and amazon for you. Best Wishes. (Millie and Willie are rooting for you, too. Millie likes Rocky Road ice cream, unless she’s in the mood for strawberry. Willie’s a tin roof sundae guy all the way.)

  2. This – “If I don’t promote or don’t believe in what I’m doing, then who will? I like my final product.” – is so true! Good luck, Anna!

  3. Too much work? I don’t think you can do enough to get your name out there. If you don’t believe in your product, who will? Congrats on the tour and to the winners.

    sherry @ fundinmental

  4. As long as you have the time and inclination, then shoot for the moon. Writing is hard work, and not just the actual writing part. I don’t know a lot of book bloggers, so I can’t help there, but good luck!

  5. “Sounds like too much work” huh?
    Sounds like someone thinks his book will draw readers by … what, magic?
    I have news for that author. Writing the book was the EASY part! Right? 😉

  6. I’m scared to death of reviews. I know from experience a few bad reviews on Amazon completely blows up your momentum. There’s no way around that though, is there?

  7. If you don’t want to put in the hardwork, how do you expect to get anywhere or get what you want? We must. Good luck getting reviews!

  8. That’s so true about putting in the hard work. Writing and editing the book isn’t the end of our jobs as a writer. We have to become so much more. Good luck finding reviews!

  9. It is a lot of work, but you are absolutely right not to shy away from it — it’s necessary!! Good luck and have fun 🙂

  10. Success goes to those who put in the work and have the talent. I think you will feel so good when it all pays off.
    Juneta Writer’s Gambit

  11. ‘But here’s the thing. I’m too new to be credible and I know it.’- I agree. I’m trying to do the same but poetry is a small, difficult niche to promote. Good luck!

  12. Depends what you call “work.” Sending emails to every librarian in the country is a “lot of work.” Going to book expos and selling your book at booths is a “lot of work.” All of it is part of getting your book in the hands of readers. Find the thing you love doing and get to work doing it (as you’re doing!). Unless you get lucky and land a movie deal with your first book, chances are you’re going to be required to put in a “lot of work” to promote it, even if you’re published by a major publisher. That’s just the way it is! I find blogging fun, so it never feels like work to me.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  13. I need to get out there and seek more reviews, too. That’s on my to-do list for this year. And I haven’t forgotten yours. I’m working on it.

  14. Glad things went well. As a blogger and VA for authors I recommend reading folks review policies and following their submission policy. And if you know them, blog with them say so.

  15. This is awesome and absolutely true. It’s kind of sad that more newbies don’t think of things this way. We are new, we are unknowns, so of course we’re going to have to pay our dues to be established. I’ve learned to love the hard work. Keep at it. 🙂

  16. I love your attitude about marketing your book. I think writers forget about all the hats we must wear as writers–writing, editing, publishing, marketing, dreaming and more. The best thing you can do now is begin writing another winning book because if a reader likes White Light, for sure she’ll be looking for another book from you. Snag her while she’s interested. Best of luck finding reviewers. I just added a note to my t-do list to concentrate on that this week. Thanks for the nudge.

  17. You do have to fight for those first few reviews. Hard. I applaud you for getting out there to reviewers. It’s tough but worth it.

  18. I don’t think it’s too much work at all. It’s totally worth it. Hopefully your publisher will help. Mine did a lot of door opening for me, and it made a ton of difference. As for finding reviewers, Google and Amazon are your friends.

    Good luck!

  19. jennifer@badbirdreads

    Truer words have never been spoken about promoting.

  20. You’re right. And submitting to book reviewers is a lot of work. Whenever I do it for a new release, it takes hours. And very few will review it, but just those few does help. Have a terrific weekend!

  21. It sounds like you’re on the right track. Good luck and I hope you get lots of reviews!

  22. Contacting reviewers is just as time consuming as contacting agents and publishers. It’s well worth the hard work when you see the reviews coming in. Good luck with the process.

  23. You’re blazing a trail, girl. ‘Mystery book bloggers,’ I don’t even know what that is – a website? So you’re doing better than I am already! Keep going, Anna! 🙂

  24. I’ve heard that you have to work hard for what you want. Happiness and doing what you love it’s not easy so good luck with the reviewing process. I’m sure you’ll find awesome bloggers for your book
    Best
    Ruty @Reading…Dreaming

  25. Hard Work is every author’s middle name, and I applaud any of them who take on the task of, not only creating their stories, but also marketing them. Good luck and enjoy the challenge.

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

