Guest Post: Lidy Wilks Author of Can You Catch My Flow?

CYCMF- blog tour & giveaway banner 2 (1)

Prizes Begin With Clicking the Rafflecopter Link

Hi everyone. Let me introduce Lidy. A friend. A blogger. And a poet.

Take it away…

Thanks for having me today Emaginette!

What flow do I tap into?

Sometimes it’s the flow of a beat. The flow of a bird song. Or the flow from the cycle of life. All these I tap into.

But to put it as basic as I can, I tap into myself. What makes my nerves hum and thrum. What makes me feel alive and excited. What makes me laugh or cry. Concerned and disillusioned. I tap into the flow of music, books, current events, personal thoughts and feelings. And lose myself in the flow of words inspired by the world around me.

Poetry is subjective yet so is the world we live in. But through a poem, emotional connections are built. Regardless the flow of time and space. Like how the poem Invictus helped Nelson Mandela persevere while imprisoned for 27 years. I too hope to tap into and find the right flow of words that’ll become the shining light in the darkness. Words that show that you are not alone. That you are understood.

 

Can You Catch My Flow?

by

Lidy Wilks

Genre: Poetry

Release Date: February 25, 2016

 

about her book

Debut poetry chapbook Can You Catch My Flow? captures the everyday ordinary events of the human condition in poetic snapshots. No matter the walks of life, the reader is sure to find themselves within the lines.

Lidy’s poetry reveals an understanding that deep meaning can be felt in the details. Her poetry portrays a range of topics from the pressures to conform to societal expectations, friendship, monarch butterflies, partying, insomnia, and the quest for peace…just to name a few. Enjoy!- Shelah L. Maul

Purchase links

Amazon | Amazon UK | Amazon Canada | eCreate Store

About Lidy

Ever since she was young, Lidy Wilks was often found completely submerged in the worlds of Dickens, Louisa May Alcott, Sweet Valley High and Nancy Drew. She later went on to earn a Bachelor degree in English with a concentration in Creative Writing, from Franklin Pierce University. Where she spent the next four years knee deep in fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction workshops.

Lidy is the author of Can You Catch My Flow? a poetry chapbook and is a member of Write by the Rails. She currently resides in Virginia with her husband and two children. And an anime, book and manga library, she’s looking to expand, one day adding an Asian drama DVD collection. Lidy continues her pursuit in writing more poetry collections and fantasy novels. All the while eating milk chocolate and sipping a glass of Cabernet. Or Riesling wine.

Contact Links

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Blog

17 responses to “Guest Post: Lidy Wilks Author of Can You Catch My Flow?

  1. Beautiful cover. The name is intriguing. Wishing you much success.
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

  2. Very pretty cover and catchy title. 🙂
    sherry @ fundinmental

  3. Oh how I wish I would let myself tap into me. Good for you, Lidy. You have the key to inner peace, I’d say. Best wishes with this chapbook. Wishing you many more poems to write.

  4. Love this post, Lidy! I’m sure you’ll be a shining light in the dark. You have a beautiful grasp of words. 🙂

    • Thank you Heather. Finding the rightwords isn’t always easy. But what makes it worthwhile is knowing when, after searching and testing, you’ve discovered the word that grabs and throttles. Pique your senses and spark memories. The proof that your search was not in vain.

  5. Thanks for such lovely post Lidy. Life is a source of inspiration

    Ruty @Reading…Dreaming

  6. Congrats, Lidy! Sounds like an inspiring and rewarding read.

  7. your description of flow is poetic as well – i feel it!
    congrats and great cover!

  8. Poetry for Everyman. . .and woman. Sounds delightful.

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

