INDIE AUTHOR FRINGE 2016

Over the weekend I checked out the INDIE AUTHOR FRINGE 2016
and loved it. Mostly because it was free, online and full to bursting with advice.

Here are my favorite posts:

Five Steps To Writing Diversity Right: Yen OoiΒ 

Publishers are looking for more diversity, and I live in a small town full of Russian and Anglo-European (fourth generation) descendants. I had all but given up trying to figure out how include characters with varied heritages.

Then I read this:

Broaden your horizon to include more diverse literature in your reading, whether it’s within your genre or outside.

If I had any sense, I would have thought of this myself.

Just like doing research for historical fiction, reading diaries or other data written from a specific time, I could read diaries and other historical information about any heritage I choose. Finally, my door is open.

The Future of Publishing 7 things an Author MUST Know: Jane Friedman

I found Jane’s video presentation insightful. She spoke mainly on social media and measuring marketing results. I don’t know about you but I’m not a natural with any of this and need all the help I can get.

Designing Book Covers that sell – the 7 Must-Haves: Derek MurphyΒ 

I really enjoyed this video presentation. Derek offered some suggestions on how to create a great cover. I won’t give you any spoilers, but he does show excellent comparisons from amateurish to professional which I found insightful.

The writers conference was posted over a twenty-four hour period. It included a wide range of topics, giveaways and will return several times a year. I don’t know about you, but I’m looking forward to them.

Have you ever been to something like this online? Tell us about it. πŸ™‚

28 responses to “INDIE AUTHOR FRINGE 2016

  1. I have never done an online conference like that, or taken and webinars. I did a twitter chat for the Twin Cities Theatre Bloggers. That’s about it. Thanks for sharing that advice on writing diverse characters. I struggle with that, too. I’m Norwegian-American and have lived in a really white world in Northern Minnesota, and I’m not just talking about the snow. But, I want to be more diverse. Now, I feel that door has unlocked. Thanks.

  2. Sounds intriguing! Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

  3. Great information! I’m a Derek Murphy fan for sure.

  4. I’ve been listening too. This was the first one for this group, which I thought was cool. They did a great job. I have been following their site for a long time and I have their ethical author logo on my site. I found them through someone’s IWSG post, but I do not remember who my recall is not as sharp as it used to be.

    I enjoyed the ones with JoAnna Penn and Mark Dawson too. Jane Friedman was one of the first ones I watched since it started in early am for the US. It was on Englands time. I missed the other two you mentioned I will have to go back and watch them.

    Great post and information.
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

  5. I just added Jane Friedman’s link to the IWSG Newsletter for April. πŸ™‚ I’m going to borrow the other two for future issues. Thanks for sharing!

  6. I’ve never attended anything like that, but I’ll keep my eye open for them in the future. Thanks for the links!

  7. Oh man, I can’t believe I missed the conference. Went out to MD to my hubby friend’s house to hang out and pick up some souvenirs he brought back from Jamaica. Then I spent the rest of the weekend doing laundry and falling asleep. Attended the conference online last year and planned to do it again this year. It was very informative, especially the session about using Pinterest to grow your audience. Thanks for sharing the links Emaginette! πŸ˜€

  8. I attended a writer’s conference as a member of the International Women’s Writing Guild in New York. I did a half day conference and listened to a panel of writers discuss their own successes in the industry. I had fun! I did take one online writing course through writers digest and loved that. I am happy you had a good time.

  9. I haven’t been to any writing conferences, though I’ve watched a few speeches that were done at writing conferences, if I like the author. But that diversity article was really interesting. I come from a diverse background and grew up and live in a very diverse place and I find it hard to figure out how to write diverse characters in my genre.

    • And I thought it was just me.

      I was raised in a 3rd generation Scot-Russian household and don’t speak a word of Russian. But my Baba (Grandmother) brought us all the Russian food she could carry. πŸ™‚ Lucky us.

      But it’s all I have of my culture. 😦

  10. Yes, I’ve been to all the children’s writing conferences here in NZ, except for the one last year as I had a disaster just prior and had to lose out on my accommodation and everything! Usually though, I love going! The online conference idea sounds interesting πŸ™‚

  11. Thanks for sharing this information πŸ™‚

  12. This looks like a wonderful resource. Great info and I’ll check out the site.

  13. Awesome! Thanks for sharing. I’ll be making covers very soon, so that link is great. πŸ™‚

  14. I thought about attending the conference, but didn’t have time. Can we still access the info now?

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

