IWSG #25 – I Am Writing Again

New IWSG BadgeThis post was written for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group where we share our encouragement or insecurities on the first Wednesday of the month, to join the group or find out more click here.

~~~oOo~~~

My lack of enthusiasm with White Light is still a pain in my neck, but I’ve moved on to another story. Two in fact. One short for a contest and a novel idea that came up when I was doing some research.

While writing the short I decided to write the end before the middle. So far I have five of them and I like two. Yet they still don’t fit quite right. I’ve decided to write the ending over and over again until it hits the mark. I’m not accepting a okay ending. Not for this story. I want to knock their socks off.

Anyone up for a beta read on 5k or less let me know.

The novel idea happened when I was going through my notes on writing a cozy. Apparently White Light was more of a soft-boiled story. I had no idea such a sub-genre existed. So rolling with it I went through my notes see how far off I was. Not that far, but far enough.

All that reading got me thinking and you know where that leads. Yep! Story idea that I think might be fun. A candle shop owner meets an essential oils lover and they click on many different levels. The two of them find a body in a farmers market. Hopefully it will be a fun read with some giggles and surprises.

People. I have found my feet. And all I can say is its about time. What about you, how’s your month gone?

101 responses to “IWSG #25 – I Am Writing Again

  1. Yeh for finding your feet! And good luck with your projects!

    I’ve heard of hard-boiled detective stories and mysteries, but never knew there was a soft-boiled sub-genre as well. I guess it does make sense. πŸ™‚

  2. Yay! Good luck with it and I hope it turns out wonderful!

  3. Hurray for finding your feet! I have never really felt that secure about my current WIP. I would have given it up long ago if it didn’t have such a strong response from my CPs. If I finish this first draft and begin to make revisions, maybe I will finally get my feet under me.

  4. Good news–that you’re inspired again. I love that your IWSG comes out a day early. It’s my early warning device of the pending festivities. It takes me a bit of time to answer comments on my IWSG as well as seek out new people I haven’t met before. But, if not that, what’s the use of the community?

  5. Hooray! What an exciting new direction! I love the sound of your characters and the mystery unraveling. I found my feet too. Maybe it’s the month of May, who knows. πŸ™‚

  6. You go. I’ll beta read, send it over. Let me know, what YOU need me to look for if something particular too. What you want to know most.

    Happy Writing,
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

  7. That’s awesome, so happy to hear you’re writing again! Happy May and happy spring (I know, spring had already started, but I’m only seeing it now, LOL)

  8. Sandra Ulbrich Almazan

    Good luck finding the perfect ending!

  9. Yay! Glad you are on a roll.

  10. Hey, I understand. Moving on to another story is the best medicine. I usually know what happens at the end of the story before I begin writing it, so I understand why you’re trying to get the ending perfect first. Don’t try to make it too perfect, though. You might find that while you’re writing the rest of the story, and even better ending will occur to you.

    Sure, I’d be fine with reading a beta. the more styles of writing I’m exposed to, the better.

  11. Glad you’ve found your feet. Although my current WIP have become stagnant. I’ve yet to give up on any of them. I’m always getting ideas to use. They’re always on my mind.

  12. spunkonastick

    When you find your feet, your niche, it’s a wonderful feeling.

  13. Sounds like a great idea for a new book. That’s probably just what you need. I liked White Light, but maybe you need a little distance from it right now.
    Mary at Play off the Page

  14. Finding a body in a farmers market got my attention! I like unique and specific settings in books. I actually bought a book recently because it was about two characters who fall for each other while working at a farmers market!

  15. Yay for finding your writing groove again! Soft-boiled? I hadn’t heard of that one, but I guess if you have hard-boiled mysteries, you can have soft-boiled ones. Not sure what it means, though.
    I wouldn’t be able to write the ending first. As a pantser, I have a general idea of the ending, but all the details come later when the rest of the story is written and I’m in the thick of the moment.
    Good luck with your new stories!

  16. Congratulations! Sometimes we just have to keep writing until we get the results we’re looking for.

  17. Well you read about my month, so you win. Yours was much better. Way to get back in the swing of things! I’m so happy for you.

  18. Yay!!! Glad you found your writing groove again!
    Not sure what Soft-boiled means, totally hadn’t heard of it before! lol
    Good luck with your new stories! You’re gonna rock it! πŸ˜‰

  19. Congrats on getting back into the swing of things. I also hadn’t heard of soft-boiled. I’d love to beta read if you’re still looking for more.

  20. I’m thrilled you’re writing again. Yay! It’s hard to keep all the genres and sub-genres straight. I know there’s hard-boiled and soft-boiled mysteries, but I couldn’t even begin to define them. Good luck with all of your projects and ideas!

  21. Sometimes just letting a project go is the best way to find a new way back to it. Glad you’ve started on different stories. They may lead you finding a way to finish that first one.

  22. Hooray for writing again. It’s a great feeling, especially if you’ve been stuck. Hope things keep flowing for you. πŸ™‚

  23. Yay, you! Congrats. It always fascinates me hear about someone else’s process. With shorts, I always write to a twist, so I never have more than one ending. How exciting to have a choice!

    Honestly? I have no clue where my feet are at the moment, but that’s okay. πŸ™‚

    VR Barkowski

  24. Keep on moving forward, run!

  25. Loni Townsend

    Yay for finding your feet! My month has been fairly productive, even though my word count hasn’t been high. I’ve gotten things worked out in my head, so that’s a good thing, right?

    Best of luck with your new story!

  26. Who is creating all these genres anyway? Happy to hear you are on your feet and at it again. Good luck. πŸ™‚
    sherry @ fundinmental

  27. Glad you got your feet under you. Good luck on getting that ending figured out.
    Tweeted.

  28. Congrats on finding your feet! I agree the ending needs to be polished and hit the mark. Good luck with your new idea!

  29. Congrats on finding your feet! I love that expression πŸ™‚ I love your story idea – it sounds like a lot of fun, both to write and to read.

  30. Yay, you’re writing again! That’s always a great thing.

  31. Great to read this title and it made me smile even more to read you have found your feet. Congrats and keep on writing. Good luck!!

  32. My goodness, Anna, that’s great news. Fantastic effort, too, on doing a bit of research to find out where you went wrong. It sounds like you’re on the path, now. Yay! πŸ™‚
    p.s. seeing your comment made me remember IWSG day. I need to get on to doing my post!!

  33. I’m so glad to hear you’re writing again. It’s amazing what new ideas can come out of old notes. I’m looking forward to hearing more about the new projects.

  34. Diane Burton

    I love the term soft-boiled. I think my mysteries are more that than cozy. Best wishes on your project, Anna.Glad to see that you’re writing again.

  35. I’m so excited for you! I love cozies! Finish it… go all the way and don’t lose momentum. So glad you’re writing again. πŸ™‚

  36. That’s so awesome you’re writing again. I’m terrible at endings, so I can feel for you, and I wish you the best.

  37. I think its great you are working out the kinks and finding what works.

  38. Feet are important, keep them moving forward!

  39. Not accepting an okay ending? Spot on. love the attitude… πŸ™‚
    You go, Anna…knock their socks off!
    Writer In Transit

  40. Yay! Well done for getting your feet back! I’m up for a bit of beta reading if you’re still after someone πŸ™‚

  41. WOO! I so know that feeling, rather both of them. The “I lost my mojo” as well as the “I’M BAAAAACCCK!”. Glad to see you’re up and writing again!

  42. I so love hearing those words, especially from my own mouth! So “Go Girl!” and make it happen. I don’t mind reading if you still need a reader… Think you have my email but just in case celticadlx@gmail.com. Just let me know whenever you’re ready. And thanks for dropping by my blog!

  43. That’s awesome! Way to go! It’s been a slow week for me, but I’m eager to get a fresh start after the weekend. πŸ™‚

  44. My month was being but inspiring. I’m hoping to continue on bravely with writing. Good luck with the story. I’d be glad to give it a read if you still need a second look. I’ve never heard of soft-boiled either. There are so many sub-genres nowadays it seems like I keep tripping over new ones.

  45. jennifer@badbirdreads

    Writing the ending before the rest is interesting. I should try that.

  46. That story idea actually sounds adorable. I love the farmer’s market crowd!

  47. Congrats on finding your feet! Sounds like a fun story.

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

