Writing Workshop Ideas

workshop-1345513_1920

I posted a while back that I was part of the Grand Forks Writer’s Guild. The local writers usually read some of their work and discuss what they are working on.

Last week someone led the group in a writing exercise and it got me thinking. We all have something to offer. One of the group is a poet and I wouldn’t mind a refresher or help getting in touch with my inner poet. We’ve have an editor that could help us track down our most common errors and help us make a writer’s cheat sheet.

So me and my big mouth suggested we should all do a little workshop.

Mine is coming up and I’m looking for a writing exercise that five to eight people can do in a half hour.

I was thinking of a challenge:girl-152497

  • How many different ways can a person write the same thought.
    • For example, straight forward and simple, front to back, sliding in modifiers.
  • Select an object or emotion and describe it without stating its name
  • Or an exercise on adding concrete details.

If you were going to my mini workshop, what would you pick?

32 responses to “Writing Workshop Ideas

  1. Nice challenges. πŸ™‚
    I would select the second option. (this moment’s state of mind)
    If I was in the mood for an extreme challenge – I would select the first one.
    The third exercise seems a little vague; it could turn out easy or strenuous.

  2. I like the idea of writing about an emotion without naming it. I just read a friend’s poem about anger which I perceive as colored red, but her anger was smoky gray. Or maybe you could all write about the same emotion. I’m sure each piece would be different. I like your idea of the mini workshops presented by each member. Always good to stretch your writing muscles. Please let us know which workshop you presented.

  3. I think I would go with the second option. All of them sound like great challenges to me. Good luck with your workshop!! I’m sure it will be awesome.

  4. I like the idea of selecting an object and describing it without stating its name.
    Have fun at the workshop!

  5. Select an object or emotion and describe it without stating its name. It would push me to expand my use of descriptive words.

  6. I like the emotion or object exercise. I think we get used to saying what we feel too openly, and describing it in body language and dialogue seems like a skill set any type of writer would gain some sort of benefit in.

  7. Describing an object or emotion without revealing the name sounds like a fun exercise that wouldn’t confuse the people who have to do it. And the options are limitless for that one, so it would create a lot of interesting and different responses.

  8. I like your idea of a challenge of some sort, actually the ones you siggested seemed great to me.

  9. Have fun! It’s been a while since I’ve been in a writing workshop, but it sounds like a good opportunity to maybe brush up on some writing skills you don’t get to stretch all the time.

  10. I like the second one, too. I can always use practice with showing and not telling. πŸ™‚

  11. I like the idea of using concrete detail, of using strong nouns, powerful verbs etc. A twist on that could be using concrete details in conjunction with only one of the senses, like smell or hearing.

    Good luck!

  12. I like the second one. I tend to write like a speak…in short “conversations”, so that exercise would help me develop my writing skills more than any of the others.
    sherry @ fundinmental

  13. Probably the exercise where I’d have to come up with concrete details. I need all the practice I can get on that subject.

  14. I actually offer that emotion writing exercise as a workshop when I do presentations for schools. I have them use The Emotion Thesaurus.

  15. This would be my pick because it teaches deep POV and setting and description in a way. It alway teaches you to use your words on many things like a camera.

    “Select an object or emotion and describe it without stating its name”

    Much success with your class and have fun.
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

  16. My vote is for the second one. Sounds like a lot of fun!

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

