Another Publisher Gone

Every time I turn around my writing resume gets shorter. J Taylor Publishing, headstone-312540_1280first to give me a break, closed their doors and returned my rights to my first published short, Time Piece.

I submitted the short not because I wanted to write young adult sci-fi, but because the opportunity came up. I couldn’t resist testing the waters. Not only was Time Piece accepted and included in the One More Day anthology, it received some positive reviews.

Encouraged, I tried a fantasy and submitted to Roane Publishing. All this effort was to make my bones and to learn about the industry. I thought I was getting somewhere. I had a list of published works and a better understanding of what was expected of me.

I’ve moved on to writing longer works. Unfortunately, it takes time to write, polish, and submit them. And if each year I keep losing publishers, I’ll lose the head way I’ve made so far.

And here’s the rub: If I go too fast, I won’t produce a decent work and I’ll lose the few fans I have. I’m feeling a fair amount of pressure to get something else out in the writing world.

So I have had to bottom line it for myself.

social-1206612_1280I must forget about what is happening around me and let it go. Focus on working at a pace that is comfortable for me, produce something I’m proud of and cross my magic fingers that is enough.

My confidence is waning. What do you to keep your chin up? If you have the time, I sure could use a pep talk right about now.

68 responses to “Another Publisher Gone

  1. That must be such a tricky balance between taking your time and producing good work or writing quickly to get something out there. And how frustrating to have your publisher go out of business. For what it’s worth, I think you’re taking the right approach – work at your own pace and focus on producing something you’re proud of. Hang in there 🙂

  2. Hang in there. It seems like I’m reading about another publisher closing its doors often these days. Stick to your guns and your story will be better for it:)

  3. At least you had the stories published and the opportunity to learn what you did. No one can take that away. You’ve grown and now you’re ready to produce your best work. Just keep writing for yourself and everything will fall into place.

  4. All you can do is keep on keeping on. 🙂 Because of the internet, so many ‘businesses’ are popping up. It seems to be fluid, so finding a niche and keeping it may be harder than they anticipate. Just keep writing and somehow I believe the rest will work itself out.
    sherry @ fundinmental

  5. authorcrystalcollier

    This is the power of a mailing list. If you haven’t started one, you should. Loyal readers want to know when you put something out, and if you’ve got a mailing list, you know how to reach them directly without fear of losing them. It takes some of the time pressure off.

  6. Unfortunately, a lot of publishers have gone under in the past few years. Just keep producing and getting your work out there any way you can. Not every publisher will go under and there’s always self-publishing some of it and becoming a hybrid author.

  7. Oh no! I really feel for you. I went through the same thing when my publisher closed its doors early this year. (And then opened them again…and then closed them to my genre.) At least you got your rights back–we’re still waiting.

    I wasn’t sure about self-publishing before, but now I think it’s a much better use of my resources than going with smaller pubs. I’ve just seen far too many of them close. You are definitely NOT alone, sadly.

    As for feeling better, take a day and do whatever makes you happy. Indulge in a good book, have a bubble bath, invest in some good chocolate–whatever it is. And know in your heart that this too shall pass.

    *hugs*

  8. I totally agree with you about forgetting what’s around you right now. You can’t worry about things you have no control over. If you stress and force your work on your book, it won’t come out as well. Stories take time and you have to give them that time. You know your work is good. Just follow your own advice — focus on working at a comfortable pace and produce something you’re proud of. And treating yourself to chocolate is always nice, too. 🙂

  9. The publisher might be gone, but your publishing history remains the same. Your story in the anthology didn’t disappear, even if the anthology itself isn’t for sale anymore. I have several shorts of mine published in various online magazines over the years. Some of those magazines are gone – but the publication fact is still true. It’s like working for a company that’s gone under. You keep that line in your resume anyway, right?

  10. I’m so sorry that happened, it seems publishing companies closing is happening more and more. *hugs* So sad for all the authors and their readers for sure.

  11. When you get the rights back to your work don’t think of it as losing a publisher. Think of it instead like a tenant leaving your rented apartment. Your work/the apartment is still there. You need to find a new tenant. 🙂

  12. All of the presses and publishers that are going under really has me worried. I tell myself, though, that if my publisher has to close, that I’ll have to take it as an opportunity. Maybe to rework those published pieces and self-publish them. If they’re self-published, I won’t have to worry about the publisher closing down and losing everything I had done.

  13. I don’t write very fast either. When I was working full time, I had an excuse. When I retired from teaching, I thought I’d be able to crank out the books. But, sadly, it takes me just as long to write a book as when I was teaching. I only have one pace. Slow.

    Like you, if I push myself to go faster, I come out with dreck. And dreck won’t get me anywhere.

    Slow writers, unite! We are legion. We are also quality.

  14. It is frustrating. I have some work with a struggling publisher and if things don’t look up, I’ll get my rights back and publish on my own since it’s hard to find a publishers who’ll publish previously published work.

  15. You can only write as fast as you write. Now that the rights to those works have reverted to you, there’s an argument for publishing them yourself so your readers can still have access to them.

  16. I recently received a rejection for one story, and I worked forever on another piece that I ended up not subbing because I was unhappy with it, thus missing the deadline. I let myself wallow for a bit then got back to work. That’s what I can control, that’s what I can do something about. And so can you. 🙂

  17. While it’s annoying to have these things happen to you, it shouldn’t affect you at all. You are a published author and that short story was published, and that didn’t change because the publisher went out of business. Hold onto that story for now and use it later, for example, to give out to people who sign up for your email list.

    As far as your writing speed goes, only write as fast as you can without your quality suffering. Remember that you’re in this for the long haul, and unlike the old days of trad publishing, your works will be available forever. So if it takes you an extra year to write a story,it’s not a problem. People will be able to buy it just as easily then as they could now.

    Take it from a slow writer. Your time will come.

  18. Juggling quality work and being present is a tough one. Focus on the writing the rest will work itself out.

  19. The very first publisher who accepted my very first submitted story went under about six weeks after said story was published. I know there are good publishers out there. In fact, my second longer published piece was with a very good publisher (great editing, wonderful cover art, paid pretty much on time, etc.), but with the way the publishing industry is changing, I just don’t quite trust most publishers. After all, even the great ones can go under. I learned that the only person I could rely on to be there when I publish is myself, not publishers.

  20. Just keep at it. I admire that you know you need to work at a certain pace to produce work you can be proud of.

  21. I understand how you feel, I’ve been discouraged and unmotivated lately for a variety of reasons. It was a good pep talk for me to read the comments others left you! It’s so true, all we can do is keep writing and doing our best work. Hang in there.

  22. Sorry to hear this, for you and all of your fellow writers there.

    When Booktrope closed, it wasn’t quite as difficult for me, since I was self-pubbed prior to them picking me up. All I had to do was negotiate a payment with my cover artist for some minor work, and I could have hit publish the day after they closed (I waited a few weeks to see how other Booktrope authors would fare).

    Emotionally, I was certainly sad and humbled, but I was able to forge some great friendships and relationships there that are carrying me through.

    Best of luck as you drive forward.

    Any chance the other authors in the anthology can band together and self-pup it?

  23. Keep writing because it’s what you love to do. FORGET what others are doing–your trip is yours, theirs is theirs. Diana

  24. I feel for you, Anna. Because I understand exactly how you feel. Wish I could say something to make you feel better. Believe in yourself. Never waiver from that belief. And repeat this mantra: “Everything always works out for me.” I promise things will improve.

  25. Do you ever feel like there is too much pressure in the writing world to either write faster or put out shorter works which we might not enjoy writing as much? I do. Just wondered if i was alone in this..

  26. It is a conundrum for sure. Push too fast and it’s drivel. Take too long, do they forget I exist? And yeah, losing content from publishers closing stinks.

    Pep talk?

    Write the pace you want, stay focused, be proud of work, don’t let crap seep through the cracks, stay focused, and above all… be your own writer. Write what you want to write. Not what others expect you to write. And when it’s 6 seconds on the clock, and you’re on the fifty yard line, and you’re down by six, and you know there’s only one way you can do this. You snap that ball and send it soaring. You throw that ball like it’s a gift from your ex-boyfriend. And, um…. well, I think the point was… umm… carry on.

  27. Dude, that sucks. I’ve seen a lot of publishers pop up and close. It sometimes makes the waters feel choppy and unstable. I’m hoping things are looking up for you (now that it’s been a week since you’ve posted this).

  28. Keep going, keep writing and never stop. Sometimes times can be testing and I assure you many authors feel some struggles or another before they reach a comfortable stage.
    It can be hard but tests and struggles are what makes us much more stronger and more wiser.
    So keep you’re chin up and take you’re time to produce quality over quantity. When the time is right for you, you’ll find success knock you’re door, but keep working hard and keep trying, and don’t let it dishearten you either. 👍

  29. I can understand this must be very frustrating for you right now. As much as you would like to control the situation you cannot. But what you can do is to keep working. Sometimes in life certain things are taken away from us so that we get to cherish the future blessings that are yet to come. May be it is a sign that there is something more wonderful awaiting round the corner. I wish you lots of courage and a lot more success from here on. 🙂 Stay strong and everything will surely work out fine. If you were able to do back then and you can surely do it now as well.

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

