Tsunami Crimes Blog Tour Stop

Everyone who knows me knows I love mysteries, but I also love a good thriller and even some horror once in a while. So when my dear friend, Chrys Fey, offered to share how much work went into building a thriller, I jumped at the chance.

Take it away, Chrys.

~~~oOo~~~

As much planning as it takes. *wink* Okay, okay. I’ll give a better answer than that.

With my Disaster Crimes Series, it takes me a year to write the first draft. While I am writing the current story, I am thinking ahead to the next book. Since I know what’s happened so far, and what’s happening at the moment, I let my mind weave stories for the next book. What could happen? And why would it happen?

One of my favorite times is bedtime because I get to lie in bed and ponder the plot. I fantasize about my characters. No, not sexually. Get your mind out of the gutter! What I mean is that I put on movies in my head. I let my characters do whatever they want and say whatever they want. Okay, so that still sounds sexual. And occasionally, it might be an intimate scene, but really these imaginations are opportunities; events that can happen in the next book.

When I’m able to begin working on the book I’ve been thinking about, I map out the main ideas that have dominated my mind for so long. Then during the next week or so, I create a detailed chapter-by-chapter outline to link all of those moments together.

As I write, my planning doesn’t come to a complete end. Every now and then, I may write something that changes a later event. Or I may decide I don’t like something I have mapped out, so I’ll cut it from the outline.

Planning doesn’t actually end until the book is done. So, with a year of day-and-night-dreaming, and a year of writing, I’d say two years of planning go into my thrillers.

~~~oOo~~~

About the book

tsunamicrimes_w11205_750Beth and Donovan have come a long way from Hurricane Sabrina and the San Francisco earthquake. Now they are approaching their wedding day and anxiously waiting to promise each other a lifetime of love. The journey down the aisle isn’t smooth, though, as they receive threats from the followers of the notorious criminal, Jackson Storm. They think they’ll be safe in Hawaii, but distance can’t stop these killers. Not even a tsunami can.

This monstrous wave is the most devastating disaster Beth has ever faced. It leaves her beaten, frightened. Is she a widow on her honeymoon? As she struggles to hold herself together and find Donovan, she’s kidnapped by Jackson’s men.

Fearing her dead, Donovan searches the rubble and shelters with no luck. The thought of her being swept out to sea is almost too much for him to bear, but the reality is much worse. She’s being used as bait to get him to fall into a deadly trap.

If they live through this disaster, they may never be the same again.

To Enter giveaway Click here

Where to buy

Amazon US / Amazon UK / Amazon CA

NOOK / KOBO / The Wild Rose Press

P.S. Hurricane Crimes and Seismic Crimes are on sale for 99 Cents!

About Chrys

chrys-fey-croppedChrys Fey is the author of the Disaster Crimes Series. She is a blogger, reader, auntie, vegetarian, and cat Lover. Get Lightning Crimes (Disaster Crimes 2.5) for FREE!

LINKS:

Facebook / Twitter / Blog / Website / Amazon / Goodreads

 

17 responses to “Tsunami Crimes Blog Tour Stop

  1. Very interesting, Chrys. My approach is similar, though I take a whole lot longer!

  2. I like to let my imagination do most of the work, just as you’ve described, Chrys. When I’m writing rough copy, I am a visual person, also, and see the action as if it were a movie reel unfolding before my eyes. You’re actually the first other writer I’ve come across who has expressed a similar method. Most times, when I’ve mentioned it, the chat boards have gone quiet! Glad to make your acquaintance! 🙂

    http://www.yvettecarol.wordpress.com

    • I’m a fan of thriller movies, so visualizing my stories as movies helps me so much. I’m surprised the chat boards go quiet when you mention this method. Surely we aren’t the only ones who do this. Right? 🙂 I’m happy to get to know you, Yvette!

  3. Thanks for hosting me, Anna! I’m always happy to be a guest here. 🙂

  4. Two years is a lot of planning. I tend to let my characters roam when I go to bed, too. (Now, that just sounds neglectful.)

  5. This books sounds awesome. And you crack me up with your fantasies! I just read A Walk Across the Sun about two Indian girls who survived the 2004 Tsunami only to get taken in by sex traffickers, so this story would be right up my alley.

  6. Congrats. You got it going on. Wishing you the joy of success and much prosperity.

    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

  7. Love the idea of playing movies in your head before going to sleep! I think about stories when I go to bed too but never thought of it that way. That makes it sound like such fun. 😀
    Congrats, Chrys and hello, Anna!

  8. Chrys, we finally got around to watching Impossible. Wow, you were right, it was extremely authentic. We cringed. At one point I found there was a camera. That’s the best recipe for a thriller. Congratulations on your newest released. “Thrilled” for you!

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

