The Thriller Genre and Why I Love It

The thriller is known for provoking suspense, excitement, surprise and anticipation and anxiety (this not so much). The villain driven plot that drives the hero forward often jeopardizing their sanity and their life.

I do love the feeling of excitement as the story unfolds. But I’m not a thrill seeker in my day to day living. I love thrillers so I can have the rush without jeopardizing anything.

Here the underdog takes on saving the world while sip cocoa and enjoying as they succeed against impossible odds. After the story is over, I’ll bask in hope. For if an underdog can succeed, I surely can too.

No wonder I love them so.

In the movie industry, Hitchcock was one of the best. I still remember watching The Rear Window, Vertigo and Strangers on a Train. I could barely breath never mind look away.

The Firm, and The Client, by John Grisham. He reeled me in like a silly old fish on a line and couldn’t get free to save my life. Truth be told, I didn’t try that hard to get away.

What about you, do you have a favorite thriller?

Gleaned from:

26 responses to “The Thriller Genre and Why I Love It

  1. Recently re-watched The Firm and The Client – they still hold up, and I still love them. πŸ™‚

  2. It’s not a genre I read, but I really enjoyed the two thrillers DLP has published. I guess I need to read more of them.

  3. I’ve read quite a few lately and loved them all: The Gift, The Girl From The Sea, Behind Her Eyes… can’t get enough of them πŸ™‚

  4. Don’t read much thrillers though I’m known to watch the film adaptations. I like The Client but I’d say my favorite thriller, and by the same author, is A Time to Kill (love Samuel L. Jackson’s scene).
    As for thriller books I have read, I do like and have re-read Angels and Demons and The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown. And The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was captivating too.

  5. Alfred Hitchcock was the master. I found a bunch of Alfred Hitchcock Presents on Hulu and binged a while ago. That was some good stuff! Also Twilight Zone always scared me. But these days, I get most of my thrills from true crime podcasts. Some of those stories can be terrifying.

  6. I love Scott Mariani and Jeffery Deaver. Great thriller writers.

  7. I like thrillers and read some but they are not my goto genre that would urban & paranormal fantasy/fantasy and space opera. Although, I did greatly enjoy the movies you mention and I do enjoy a thriller ever once in a while as well as adventure stories.
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

  8. I have read so many thrillers I cannot choose just one. But I will say I am eager for the next one. πŸ™‚
    sherry @ fundinmental

  9. I can’t do it. I can handle suspense in a book, but on the screen? Nope. It’s too much for me. Is that crazy? Sometimes I have to leave the room and tell my hubby to catch me up about what happened later.

  10. I love reading thrillers and seeing how people in dangerous situations react. Much better them than me, I figure. I love Hitchcock movies as well. We have all of the DVDs of them and rewatch them regularly.

  11. I think a lot of thriller readers aren’t thrill seekers in their real lives, but enjoy that adrenaline rush while reading.

  12. I love thrillers, but I find it challenging to discover great ones that aren’t formulaic. I tend to lean towards the psychological. Gone Girl, Jenny Milchman’s Cover of Snow, and Red Dragon by Thomas Harris are all enjoyable,

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

