IWSG 91: Inspired By My Roots


~~~oOo~~~

This post was written for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group where we share our encouragement or insecurities on the first Wednesday of the month, to join the group or find out more click here.

~~~oOo~~~

co-hosts

Joylene Nowell Butler | Jacqui Murray | Sandra Cox | Lee Lowery

OPTIONAL IWSG DAY QUESTION:

February 2 question – Is there someone who supported or influenced you that perhaps isn’t around anymore? Anyone you miss?

 I’m really looking forward to the posts this month. I have a feeling there will be more than a few posts about the makers/writers of creative works.

The person that inspired me, not that she knew it, was my grandmother. Some knew her as Elsie. Many others as Elizabeth Sookochoff. She’s been gone almost thirty years and will always be Baba to me.

But I feel her impact every day.

Her skill set, cooking, raising children and love of animals, came from growing up in a doukhobor commune outside Buchanan, Saskatchewan, Canada. They knew farming and living off the land.

She brought that skill set with her when her family moved across country on a wagon. Very Little House on the Prairie if Baba played Mrs. Ingalls. They settled in Grand Forks where I grew up.

She couldn’t read a word then, but she knew the best butter was churned in June, that fresh food meant buy it from a local farmer, or grow it yourself. And, and this one still kills me, cooking on a wood stove was the only way to make borsch, and the rest of her Russian delicacies.

She’d warm up her food on the electric stove like we use a microwave.

So adorable.

She was stronger than anyone I’ve ever known. Baba held on to her traditions and heritage all her life and when I lost her, I lost more than the support of a wonderful woman. I lost that heritage she held dear because she was my only link to my roots.

Baba inspires me every day, and not just with writing.

My Question to You

How do the people you love reflect in your writing?

60 responses to “IWSG 91: Inspired By My Roots

  1. Hi,
    This is so beautiful. It means that she still lives because she lives within you.
    What a wonderful motivational memory.
    Wishing you a great day and take care.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Pat G @ EverythingMustChange

  2. What wonderful memories of an admirable woman.

  3. What a beautiful tribute to your grandmother. It’s wonderful that you admire her so much and that she continues to inspire you.

  4. She knew how to live right and live well. Have you ever tried cooking on a wood stove?

  5. She sowed seeds of love and care. No telling how many people were affected by that harvest. Great tribute.

  6. Love this! I can totally picture her based on your words. She sounds like she could star in her own story, whether as herself or as a fictional character. 🙂

  7. I believe you made your baba very happy today.

  8. Beautiful memories of your baba. She sounds like she was an amazing woman.

  9. Love this answer!! I didn’t even think about people from my “real life” when answering the question. I have myself separated into author me and real life me 🙂 My love of reading and books and libraries comes from my mom so she would be my choice!

  10. I thought about writing about my grandma, as she was an incredible impact on my life. She passed before I even started writing seriously, though her Japanese influence reflects in some of my world choices. I do love and miss her, as I can see you love and miss your grandmother too.

  11. Until this post, I’d never heard of the Doukhobor people–very interesting! I wish I could call on memories of relatives who encouraged my creativity, but they really didn’t. I suppose I owe my family a debt of thanks for helping me realize what I didn’t want–the narrow life they envisioned for me–so I could go after what I did want. Anyway, thanks for sharing this lovely tribute to your baba, and I wish you happy writing in February.

  12. Your Baba sounds like a wonderful, wise, and strong woman. How fortunate you were to have her.

  13. Thank you for sharing your beautiful memory. 🙂

  14. Your grandma sounds wonderful. Thank you for introducing us to her.

  15. Your blog is a lovely tribute to your grandmother!

  16. What a lovely tribute to your grandmother. My paternal grandmother was a lot like your Baba, only German. Grew her own veggies and roses, canned on the canning porch my father and uncle built for her, dried her own sauerkraut. She taught me to knit, sew, and cook. And gave me an enduring appreciation for family.

  17. She sounds lie an extraordinary woman!

  18. What a wonderful tribute. I’m sure your grandmother was very proud of you!

  19. She was an amazing woman, and this a fitting tribute. She lives on through you, and your wonderful work. Thanks for sharing her memories with us.

  20. This is so lovely. We often forget to appreciate those who’ve been around in our lives. I enjoyed reading about Baba.

  21. I loved hearing about your Baba, Anna! What an inspiring person! I come from strong women too. Wishing you a happy February!

  22. This month’s posts have really been something! Some really heavy and emotional stories being told. Your grandmother sounds like a really wonderful person. It’s good to have that sort of connection to your past, to your roots. There’s a lot of inspiration to be found in that!

  23. Wow, I loved the story of your grandmother. What a lovely post. It sounds like she was such a blessing in your life. How lucky we have been to have these loved ones influence us with their guidance and support.

  24. Aww, she sounds like a great and interesting grandma.

  25. What a sweet tribute to Baba. Do you like borsch? I don’t know if I’ve ever tried it.

  26. What a beautiful tribute to your grandmother!
    Such an amazing woman and such wonderful memories, Anna.

  27. What a lovely tribute to your Baba. No doubt she is still around and checking on you.

  28. Your grandmother sounded like a wonderful woman. Thank you for sharing your memories of her with us.

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.