IWSG #24 – Facing Facts

New IWSG BadgeThis post was written for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group where we share our encouragement or insecurities on the first Wednesday of the month, to join the group or find out more click here.

~~~oOo~~~

After four years of constantly posting, I forgot. No excuses. None.

I have been forcing my sights away from writing this last month. Very stressed about self-publishing. Waiting on a someone who promised to get the proofreading done in two weeks then asked for an extension. I still haven’t heard from them.

Although I’m trying not to take this to heart, I am. Today I’m facing it and I’m bruised. I feel disrespected and insulted. Even a little angry.

Not with them. I could have moved at any time, but used them as an excuse to wait. I don’t think I truly knew how scared I was. Well, today I know and it sucks.

That’s my report.

38 responses to “IWSG #24 – Facing Facts

  1. Self publishing is very stressful all around. Don’t be too hard on yourself!
    It is scary, but once you do it you will know that you are stronger than your fears. And it won’t be quite as frightening the next time 🙂
    If you ever need help or advice I am always here (though I can’t promise I’m an “expert” in anything lol)
    Good luck!!

  2. Let yourself feel what you feel. It stinks, but sometimes riding it out is better than fighting it. Things WILL get better. Hang in there!

  3. You’re not alone Anna. I’m scared too and I have not even finished mine to get it into book form that can be published–fear. I made this meme for my IWSG post, but I think you will like it.

    click here to see meme

    I am trying to do NaNo but I feel like I’m mired in molasses. For some reason, I am feeling really stressed today and fearful I guess–nope you are not alone.

    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

  4. Well, shoot, you are so not where you usually are–upbeat, excited, positive. Hmmm…. I too sent my mss to an editor–after meeting with them, discussing, having a coffee in the physical world. Never heard from them again. So, I know how you feel. Luckily, I had a Plan B…

  5. Ooh, Anna. Chill out. Nothing in this world is perfect. If the editor can’t do the job, get someone who can. You’re in charge of the project. Take back your power. You don’t owe the editor a thing if she hasn’t delivered on the work. I might add, that even after editing, revising, re doing over and over and over, the ms will not be perfect. Go eat some cake, dance, and hug someone you love. It’ll be okay. Trust me. Trust us We’re here for ya’!

  6. I am sending you hugs and warm thoughts that everything will work out and make you smile when it’s all done. 🙂

  7. Sandra Ulbrich Almazan

    Sounds like it’s time to find a new proofreader. Remember, even while you’re waiting for someone to get back to you, you can also start marketing, working on a new project, or finding some other way to make progress.

  8. It’s a learning process for finding the right people to help you. Maybe the proofreader took on too much.
    Susan Says

  9. Self-publishing definitely sounds stressful. Don’t let someone else’s schedule mess up yours. Work on the next book while you’re waiting. Good luck with the editing.

  10. Being honest with yourself is good, but you can’t let it get you down. Use it as a stepping stone to move forward. In the immortal words of John Wayne: “Courage is being scared to death and saddling up anyway.” Just close your eyes, take a deep breath, and jump. It’s not so bad, once you’ve started. If that proofreader isn’t working out, find another. Don’t let anything stop you from achieving your goal. You can do it.

  11. So sorry you’re feeling angry and frustrated!! Unfortunately this business is like that, with highs and lows, and then more lows, and very little highs… 😦 Hugs, go for a walk and have lots of ice cream and pamper yourself because you deserve it!

  12. ;( Now you need a punching bag, eh? Here, have mine. It’s made of cheese. (Which means you can eat it when you’re done.)

  13. This is not a process we take on because we know it will be easy. I’ve gone both routes. 4 of my books are traditionally published and I was a wreck by the time each of them came out. It was just a different kind of wreckage.

  14. Oh dear Lord! I don’t blame you for feeling abused. I’ve also taken the “make no action” excuse, because I didn’t want to know the result; DO NOT beat yourself up over this. It happens to the best of us! I do have to tell you however, that I have forgotten to post for #IWSG a few times and always was horrified, when I remembered. Your confession at the very start made me laugh. Don’t worry about being shy; just put your ears back and dive in; they SHOULD have stuck to their promise of 2 weeks! co-host Viola Fury, aka Mary

  15. I’m so sorry you’re struggling with this. I don’t have any advice but am just sending a hug your way. Take care!

  16. It really sucks to be an indie in a lot of ways, not least among them being when people forget to get back to you. (This reminds me of an ARC and another manuscript I’m supposed to give feedback on.) It is easy to use those things as excuses, but when we are our own bosses, we can’t do that. Hang in there!

  17. jennifer@badbirdreads

    Self-publishing is really hard. I failed at it. Don’t taking anything to heart. Roll with the punches.

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.