IWSG 110: Review or Critique, that’s the question.

~~~oOo~~~

This post was written for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group where we share our encouragement or insecurities on the first Wednesday of the month, to join the group or find out more click here.

~~~oOo~~~

CO-HOSTS

Lee McKenzie| JQ Rose |Jennifer Lane | Jacqui Murray

OPTIONAL IWSG DAY QUESTION

Book reviews are for the readers. When you leave a book reviews do you review for the Reader or the Author? Is it about what you liked and enjoyed about your reading experience, or do you critique the author?

I’ll start with Critiques

I critique often mostly because I’ve learned a few things, but even if I hadn’t, it’s great a way to show support to my fellow writers. Some don’t like my style and that’s okay.

Some come back for more. I hope it’s because I don’t just point out what doesn’t work, I’ll make suggestions on how to fix them. Making a point of also including immediate reactions (lol, gasp, etc.), missed opportunities for characterization, description, or dropping an Easter egg and asking questions so their next reader will get a few teasers.

I’m a full service kind of critter. hehehe

There is also a disclaimer that makes clear that they are the captain and I’ll accept any and all decisions because only the creator knows where the story must land up.

On to Reviews

In my whole career, I’ve done three very uncomfortable attempts, then gave them up.

One story was romance, and I discovered as a reader and a writer I don’t like just romance in any story. Lesson learned. I did an interview as a compromise, and that worked out rather well. It wasn’t the story; it was me.

Another was so full of mistakes I decided to track them all and passed on my 100+ discoveries to the author, who was shocked and disappointed because she paid for a full proofread. It was an eBook—luckily—and was corrected and re-uploaded. I think she was another happy customer. Again opting out of a review.

The third, and the worst, was reviewing for a friend. I didn’t like the story, however I did give it a three star rating and I’m still not sure it earned that much. But because she was so dear to me and I was so frightened that I’d hurt, I did what I did. Even then, I found it hard to face her.

She was thrilled with the three stars.

After that, I stopped. My nerves couldn’t take it.

Why the pressure

Besides my love of community and writing friends, I’ve heard things. Seen things over the years and know that some writers only want good reviews and insist if you can’t do a four-star or higher, then don’t post at all. Or if they don’t get the review they think they deserve they attack. I’m not up for that.

I’m an honest person and sensitive—or at least try to be, and prefer to help from the shadows.

NOW YOUR QUESTION

Do you believe every review you read? What makes you buy anything? It doesn’t have to be a book.

33 responses to “IWSG 110: Review or Critique, that’s the question.

  1. Thanks. You’ve answered my own question in one – and yes, that evidently unacceptable four star review for someone I know landed me in trouble. Attack, definitely, and I haven’t reviewed since. Time to review again, and respect my own judgement.

  2. I don’t want to say anything bad about authors so I chose not to review books I don’t enjoy. And I read a number of reviews if I’m on the fence about reading something. It helps me decide if I think I’d like a book. Some I know I’ll like from the blurb.

  3. You were lucky three times. I’d stop there, too.

  4. I tend to read some reviews, skim others, but I take them all with a grain of salt. 🙂

  5. A review is indicative of its writer. What I enjoy or think superior or inferior is totally my own perspective. The cardiologists tell me that my time is limited, and I don’t want to spend it in being dismissive of someone’s hard work.

    If I cannot be positive about a book, I do not write a review of it. But if we look hard enough, all of us can find something worthwhile about a book. But that is just my perspective as are all reviews, right? Have a wonderful Holiday season!

    • I wish everyone saw that a review, like a crit, is just one persons opinion and nothing more.

      We are a mixed bag and should be. Imagine everywhere you went you only found yourself.

      Hehehe

  6. What an entertaining read! And yes, it is very difficult to rate a friend’s book unless the content really hits it out of the ball park–LOL. Or to allow a friend to write a review of my book. How honest does one have to be? I read reviews for items other than books. But if I really like the item, I disregard the bad reviews. Happy Holidays!!

  7. I read book reviews, especially if its back blurb sounds interesting. The blurb writers are not always honest or precise, and I always want to know more about the nature of the book before I open it. If a number of reviews contain words like ‘grim’, ‘gritty’, etc., I won’t read it, even if all the reviews are 5 stars.
    And yeah, reviewing for a friend could be tricky.

  8. It is hard to review books. You have to figure out what works for you and stick with it. For me, it’s to not review anything I don’t fully support. That’s it.

  9. Ah yes, the danger of hurting a friend’s feelings. I’ve encountered that before and opted not to leave a review because I struggled so much with the story. It was soooooo boring. I didn’t tell the person I’d bought there book, so they weren’t expecting a review, so I’d satisfied my sense of supporting my friend in at least paying the kindle price for it. But yeah, no review, because I didn’t want to damage their rating, but I also didn’t want to lie.

  10. I don’t do book reviews. I do beta read these days and give my feedback that way in hopes that what I say helps them get nothing but great reviews.

  11. I found your thoughts on this very interesting. I like the fact that we are free to express our opinions on books through reviews and I always hope that there will be something valuable for people to take away.

  12. I’m hesitant to read and review if another author asks me because of some past experiences as well. I know the work that goes in and I just feel bad if I end up not liking the book and I agreed to review it because obviously I thought it’d be something I’d enjoy. Plus, my brain tends to rebel at requests because then it feels like an obligation and not something I’m doing because I’m really enjoying the book.

    • Ah, another good point. The difference between giving and having something asked for. I love to give but feel a little awkward when someone asks me for something. I don’t mean to feel bad, but I do.

      Very insightful. 🙂

  13. That’s what has always worried me, giving a bad review to someone I hold dear. Thank goodness it hasn’t happened. Everyone I know and care about write beautifully. In fact, that’s how many of them became such good friends is because I love their writing and I’m their biggest fan. I.E. I can’t get enough of Martha Engber, Keith Pyeatt, and Marie Beswick-Arthur to name just a few. There’s also Alex, Diane, Lee, etc. etc..

  14. I definitely don’t believe every review I read. Generally, I make my decision about books by authors who are new to me based on taking the “look inside” or the direct recommendation of a trusted friend. If I’m using reviews to help me decide I read a few 5 star and a few 1 stars to see if what people loved/hated about it are things I love or hate. @samanthabwriter from
    Balancing Act

  15. Hey, critter! It does seem perilous to review friends’ work–an ethical dilemma about how honest to be if it wasn’t your cup of tea. I tend to review everything I read on Goodreads, partly as a way to connect with readers and partly to remember the story better. Maybe reviewing helps me learn a little more about writing, too? Sounds like you have a system that works for you. 😀

  16. I tend not to write reviews if I’m asked for them as I prefer to choose what I read for myself.

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.