IWSG 114: How to Stay on Target 

~~~oOo~~~

This post was written for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group where we share our encouragement or insecurities on the first Wednesday of the month, to join the group or find out more click here.

~~~oOo~~~

CO-HOSTS

Victoria Marie Lees | Kim Lajevardi | Nancy Gideon, | Cathrina Constantine

OPTIONAL IWSG DAY QUESTION

How do you deal with distractions when you are writing? Do they derail you?

Where I started

The first thing I did was go online. Oh, was that a distraction or digging for information? A bit of column A and a bit of column B. 🙂

You see, some people—me—have huge blocks of time without distractions. I’m not raising children or have a demanding spouse. My house is already a mess, so I don’t have that to do.

Sure, I’ve got a crowd of pets—two dogs and two cats—but they suck up what they can get and know when I’m at the keyboard I’m working.

Yes, they test that boundary until I yell out: “I’m working here!”

Then they skedaddle, laughing all the way.

My findings

Managing External Distractions: Identify it, then take action.

  • social media, research bingeing, or just the internet… turn off Wi-Fi,
  • sounds bother you… use music, white noise,
  • desktop is full of shortcut icons that must be pushed… use a full-screen when you open a document,
  • too busy… schedule a block of time,
  • interruptions galore… find a writing space (even if this means leaving the house),

Internal Distractions

  • forgotten where you were… try leaving a summary on your next step, writing prompt, or end in the middle of a sentence,
  • need to empty the mind first… try mediation,
  • thought of something you must fix, add, delete, etc… make a note to follow-up, then get back to your task.

More on the Inner battle

Sometimes battling with confidence or imposter syndrome can be worse than the war going on in your living room, or facing a blank screen or page.

There is no shortcut. And no, you’re not doing anything wrong when you bleed the words or debate your ability. What you’re feeling is natural. Most of us suffer within this spectrum.

If you can’t write your story, try writing about your feelings. Venting can release the tension. Maybe you’ll wind down enough to begin.

My Secret

My secret is I write, knowing no one will read it.

It’s my guilty pleasure, creating something from nothing. Being someone I’m not. Saying and doing things I’d never say or do. Pretending like a child and living in new places with people I’ll never meet during events that never happened.

This bubble of imagination is all mine and will remain so until I decide to share it.

And that too, I have full control over.

Here, I have the power. See me twisting my Snidely Whiplash moustache. hehehe

NOW YOUR QUESTION

Do you have a secret you don’t mind sharing?

Gleaned from:

28 responses to “IWSG 114: How to Stay on Target 

  1. My only process is that when I sit at my desk, writing gets done. It doesn’t matter whether it’s fiction, a light-hearted blog post, or a serious piece of non-fiction – I write. If I write nothing at all – that’s when I worry.

    Debs posting today from Fiction Can Be Fun
    Also found at Debs Despatches

  2. Identifying the distractions is a big help in avoiding them. And that’s great that you’ve found your inner power and feel in control.

  3. My biggest distraction is fighting that inner battle. We take turns with who wins. 🙂

  4. I loved the division between outer and inner distractions!

    https://cleemckenziebooks.substack.com/p/writer-derailed

  5. As soon as I’m distracted I immediately question why. If I’m patient I discover something important, deal with it, and carry on. Happy IWSG Day, Anna. Thanks for the list.

  6. mlouisebarbourfundyblue

    Thanks for all the great ideas, Anna! You laid out everything clearly! I learned that note suggestion from one of my principals. She was ex-military, and she never put a file or a project away without attaching a note saying where to start next. That really helps me. All the best to you in May!

  7. For me external distractions are easier to handle than internal distractions. The struggle is real when I find a new book, manhwa, manga, anime and/or Asian drama series (Korean, Chinese, Thailand, etc) to binge.

  8. I like your guilty pleasure. “Being someone I’m not. Saying and doing things I’d never say or do.” I totally agree. That’s why I write too – to explore the alternatives to my humdrum and quiet life.

  9. Great distraction-buster tips! That’s awesome you have two cats and two dogs.

  10. I like the tips, Anna, what an excellent take on answering the question! 🙂

  11. Hi,

    I had to laugh at the line, “My house is already a mess so I don’t have to do that.” Join the club. I do have someone that helps me with my house once a month, but basically, I do a very tiny minimal until they come.

    Have a lovely day.

    Shalom shalom

  12. Those are some great tips! The most important part is noticing, reflecting on why, and choosing something to try I think. I don’t let myself sit there feeling frustrated for long.

    @samanthabwriter from<a href=”http://samanthabryant.com“>Balancing Act</a>

  13. Sometimes I try writing a letter to my muse, asking her why my story isn’t coming together. And sometimes, my muse writes back to me to tell me exactly what the problem is.

    But seriously, writing about your own writing process can be super helpful. I do that in the form of “letters to my muse,” but you could do it as journaling, blogging, personal essays, or whatever.

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.