IWSG #15 – Twitter Pitching Results

This post was written for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group where we share our encouragement or insecurities on the first Wednesday of the month, to join the group or find out more click here.

~~~oOo~~~

Last month I reported my info on #PitchMad and since then I’ve done a second pitch party called #WritePit. Both were heart pounding fun. At first I hoped (prayed) for just one fave to prove that my pitches weren’t as bad as they suddenly looked.

I worked so hard. I needed twenty four tweets; one for every half hour of the twelve hour party. It is suggested that no two be the same. Beside the #WritePit or #PitchMad, they also asked for hashtags indicating genre and probable audience which knocked my 140 character closer to 130.

And I got Faves!!. It was amazing. After my first fave, I was so elated I knew I’d never stop using the twitter pitch to reach out.  I’ve been asked to submit seven times—five publishers and two agents. It feels good to have them approaching me rather than the other way around.

So far no acceptance, but a strange thing happened while I sent off my hopeful submissions. Confidence raised its head and urged me to submit elsewhere. So my plan is to send another batch of submissions out to my top ten agents.

Top ten, you ask.

Yes, a recent tweet reminded me of something we should all keep in mind when setting a goal.

The greater danger for most of us lies not in setting our aim too high and falling short; but in setting our aim too low, and achieving our mark.

Michelangelo

Anyway the insecurity is on the down low and the swollen head is up high. I’m going to daisies-676368_1920enjoy the ride for as long as it lasts.

How’s life treating you? Try any pitch parties? Submit? I love to read about it. 🙂


68 responses to “IWSG #15 – Twitter Pitching Results

  1. Interesting. I’ve never done it before. It seems like you need a lot of time to do it, but it sounds effective 🙂

  2. I’ve never heard of this. Fascinating. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Good for you! I think the hardest thing is putting yourself out there. I always enjoyed the Twitter pitch experiences.

  4. Awesome. I love pitch parties. I did one a few years back and had some wonderful requests, not just from agents, but from publishers. That always feels good, right? Definitely a confidence boost.

  5. Sounds like you had a lot of fun. Condensing a 100k book into 140 characters or less is daunting. Amazing what we can do when challenged.

    Best wishes,
    Diane IWSG #99

  6. Congratulations! During PitMad in March I had an agent favorite me, she ended up requesting a full, but ultimately rejected–but that’s okay, because hey, somebody looked at it! She gave me a very nice, kind rejection, too.

    This time around I got a favorite from a big ebook publisher–and they’ve currently got the full, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

  7. That is awesome news! I have only participated in #PitchMad twice and only got one fave. I did pitch an actual in person agent at the Philadelphia Writer’s Conference and he said get your 3rd book written by 8/1 and we will talk.
    Good luck with your submissions and I love the quote at the end. Absolutely always aim too high!

  8. Good for you! I’ve never tried a pitch party, but it sounds like fun, in a scary way. I did submit my novel to some agents last year, but then got some ideas to make the story stronger. Once those edits are done, I’ll try again.

  9. haven’t heard of the “Pits” at all, thanks for the info 😀

  10. Good for you! The next time those Twitter parties happen, I’m going to have to give it a try. 🙂

  11. I love pitch parties! I did really well at the last one I participated in at the beginning of June. So far, I’ve had one rejection, but there’s still a lot out there who haven’t responded yet. I’m hopeful!

  12. Stephanie Scott

    Wow, congrats on those requests! Twitter pitches are so tough. I pitched on twitter a few years back, but most times when PitMad comes around I see if I can fit my current project in a tweet for practice. It’s TOUGH.

  13. Whoo hoo on the Faves and on the requests! Hold that head up high – you deserve it! 🙂

  14. Congrats! Aren’t you glad you took the plunge and participated in #PitMad? And it’s wonderful that you’re also striking when the iron is hot. Wishing you much success with your pitch challenges and queries. And will you continue to keep us posted?

  15. Congrats on your pitching! I’m still too scared to try. 😉

  16. Congratulations. It’s always good to know that agents are interested in you.

  17. Good work! How exciting. That tweet party sounds intense.
    Play off the Page

  18. Congratulations! This is so awesome, Anna!
    I haven’t pitched in a while, which is a good thing because I am TERRIBLE at it. You deserve to be proud. Go get ’em!

    VR Barkowski

  19. Congrats on all the requests for submissions! That’s exciting! Good luck with it and with your additional submissions!

  20. I’m glad to hear the pitch party went well! Good luck! And I love that quote and do my best to try to live by it. Of course it often means I don’t hit my mark, but I’d rather aim too high than too low. 🙂

  21. Congrats on your first go-round with the pitch party. I’ll have to watch for the next one and see how they go.

  22. The pitch party sounds like fun. Congrats on the Faves and on having agents and editors reach out to you! Keep riding that high!! =)

  23. Congratulations and Wow!! I’m thrilled for you. I don’t have anything ready yet, but I definitely want to see what these Twitter pitches are like. Love that you got favorited!! Have a great night! Eva

  24. A big heart-felt congrats to you and your confidence!! Best wishes for submitting to your top ten.

  25. Okay, now I want to know what your pitch was! (Guess I can snoop on Twitter.)

    I share the PitchMad idea during a community college class I’ve been teaching twice a year: “Writing for the Children’s Market.” It’s good to hear someone’s positive experience with it. Most of the students in class are newbies who barely know what Twitter is, but every once in awhile, you find a gem. 🙂

    • Each one was different (as suggested)

      Pitch one: We all have secrets–blackmail, hospital stays, fragmented personalities. Judge them after they track down the killer.

      Pitch two: Great Aunt Alice has one dying wish. Emma, lend me your body long enough to solve my murder and get lucky one last time.

      Pitch three: Always something hidden in a closet—skeletons, booze, a dead body. The trick for Emma and Mrs Perkins is finding out whodunit.

      Pitch four: When a psychic warns two busybodies where danger lies, she doesn’t let her death stop her from joining the fun .

      Pitch five: Alice has a secret: she’s possessed a girl. And when Emma catches on, they’re battle will be life and death.

      One of them I didn’t keep because the request came from the same publisher but different editor. They had already told me it wasn’t for them, so it ended there. 🙂

  26. jenniferbielman

    Wow, this is interesting. Awesome it worked out so well.

  27. Still never done a twitter party and in general have been really, really distracted and not getting a lot done lately. 😦 Sounds like fun though! Good luck with the submissions.

  28. julieaflanders

    How exciting! I’m happy for you and love your enthusiasm – it’s contagious. Good luck with the submissions!

  29. I love Twitter! I participated in #kidpit and #sffpit with my brand new MG urban fantasy and got a few faves from pubs and agents. I’m not going with a publisher this time. So I submitted to the agents only and got a request for a full from an awesome agent!! Now, I wait. UGH. See my #IWSG post 😉

  30. How 21st century! This business just keeps evolving and authors are so creative with the technology. I’d join in on the pitch party if they serve refreshments!! Proud of ya’. Keep pitching!!

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.