IWSG #23 – Coping With Withdrawal

New IWSG BadgeThis post was written for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group where we share our encouragement or insecurities on the first Wednesday of the month, to join the group or find out more click here.

~~~oOo~~~

I was given more than ample warning that my book was coming off the eshelves. Yet when the day came, my heart broke. My insecurity has blossomed into a huge thumb and I’m under it.

Before the thumb came down, I had a plan. I lined up a graphic artist and another proofreader. I was so positive that I kept telling myself this was only a bump in the publishing road and I’d be back promoting the ebook in no time.

And I still believe it–kind of.

Let this be a warning to all. Micropublishers are a great way to enter the industry. Their expectation are a little lower so we little guys have a hope in hell. They are just as professional and strive for producing a good product.

But the little fish go first in a big pond, and from what I’m reading a constant percentage are disappearing each year. So to make our bones we may be forced to self-publish or find another publisher willing to accept previously published work.

White_LightI wasn’t prepared for White Light disappearing completely, and because I needed to make a new cover best for all my blog stoppers and reviewers to delete their posts or replace the cover art with this one.

That said, I’m pushing on, and waiting on a final proofread. Then its on to KDP and Draft2Digital to get it back out there. Thanks everyone for being there for me, for offering suggestions, and kicking my butt.

Without you I’d be nowhere. 🙂

78 responses to “IWSG #23 – Coping With Withdrawal

  1. I’m sorry you’re feeling so worried, but I really do think you have a solid plan. Also, I LOVE your new cover–way better than the old one! Plus, having more editing done will only improve your story, so you’re relaunch is going to rock. It’s okay to feel down when something tough happens. Just pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start taking steps toward your new launch. It’s going to be amazing.

  2. I love your new cover!
    Even though you had a plan in action, it’s totally understandable that you would grieve for the loss of your first book. Even if it’s a temporary loss or more of a transition, you are still seeing something you poured your heart into go up in smoke. BUT the phoenix comes back even brighter and better, right?

  3. I like the new cover, maybe more than the old. I think once you’ve gotten through the self-pub once, it’ll be easier the next time. I self-pub a lot of books and find it predictable, fairly simple if not time-consuming.

  4. You’ve already got a plan in place, so keep working it. Hang in there!

  5. It will be back in the world soon. It’s so heartbreaking to see small publishers go under. Not just for the authors, but for the industry, because if all that remains is the Big Five, we’re in trouble.

  6. Sorry. 😦 Just keep on plugging away.

    sherry @ fundinmental

  7. That’s the downside with going with a publisher. No matter how small or big, they can fall and the authors can be left without a plan, but luckily you do have one. Love the new cover!

  8. I really like the new cover too, Anna. Good to know you have a plan and please keep writing:)

  9. Yeah, that’s hard. I feel for you, Anna! On the positive side, the Universe must have other plans for you and I’m sure they’re big plans. The new cover rocks 🙂

  10. So sorry this has happened to you 😦
    Well done for having a plan and a damn good one (and for retaining the copyright so that you can!)
    Love the new cover, and wishing you all the best of luck 🙂

  11. I had no idea Anna and I am so sorry to hear about the sudden change. If I can help, please let me know. I do love the new cover and especially the swirly white font. I love your energy and enthusiasm too!

  12. Way to get back out there so fast–especially after such a blow. I’m wishing you the very best with your secondary launch.

  13. I agree with what many folks have said above – the new cover is lovely. I especially like the font you use for your name. All the best with the re-launch.

  14. Great new cover, and even better attitude. It’s tough with the publishing industry. Even the bigger publishers are having a rough time of it. Good luck to you!

  15. Oh my gosh, Anna! I’ve been so out of the loop this year. I’m sorry to hear what happened! But I know you’ll do great from now on out. You’re a hard working talented writer and your book deserves to be out there. Good plan and I love the new cover! Keep the optimism coming!!! ❤

  16. julieaflanders

    I’m so sorry again that this happened. I can imagine how heartbreaking it was. But the new cover looks fantastic! Good luck with getting the book out there again.

  17. I like your new cover. I agree with another poster. The universe has plans for you, I read hard times fall on us because there is a better place for us in the future. We get stuck in ruts, or stagnate, or get too comfortable, or don’t see the next step, so the universe steps in. Something bigger and better coming your way. LOL, look at this way this is your time to be the heroine in your own story, Ms. Protagonist.

    Wishing Much Success. You Will Do Well,
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

  18. Victoria Adams

    When you and the new ebook are ready to charge into the world – if you’d like a spot on my blog, I’m happy to oblige.
    Tweeted.

  19. Absolutely LOVE the new cover! Keep the faith.

  20. I’m so sorry to hear 😦 Publishing is so unstable. virtual hugs to you that you will find success in new ways.

    I was shocked that romance pub Samhain is closing. They are well regarded in the romance industry. It’s all financial, no scandal, thankfully.

  21. You may be down, but I know you can get up and get that book out there. And what a day for happy dancin’ that will be! You go, GRRL!

  22. Even though you know your book is going to get back out there, the shock of having this happen to your book had to have been devastating, at least initially. Just roll with the changes and everything will work out again.

  23. So sorry to read that your publisher has folded. I had no idea.
    On the bright side, you already have a plan of action! Go Anna! 🙂

  24. It just never gets easier, but you’ve got the moxie to push ahead, so I know all will be good in the end. Keep going.

  25. Loni Townsend

    It’s hard to face change like that, but it sounds like you’re staying strong. Hang in there!

  26. I’m constantly afraid my small press will go under but they seem to be holding steady. I don’t know what I’d do if they went under and all of my books were taken off the shelves.

    Best of luck, Anna! And I love the new cover.

  27. Nothing is certain in this world. But it’s great you are bouncing back and the new cover is great.

  28. Yikes!! I’ve been hearing and seeing the awful news about small pubs going under and its a shame. I love your new cover and it’s great that you’re handling everything perfectly. I wish you great luck!!!! When the time comes, I’d be happy to have you on my blog.

  29. Great cover, Anna! Keep your chin up and don’t give up on your goal. This is just one bump on the road to success. It’s difficult and painful, but you’ll be better for it. As someone said, where there’s no struggle there’s no strength.

    VR Barkowski

  30. Sorry for your frustration. I think, though, that in the end, it will be an even better product. I like the new cover. I’ll change it on my post. I was thinking about your story just the other day, so many elements that I liked about it. You’re doing great. You need to put yourself out there to experience any success. This is just a bump in the road.
    Thanks for visiting my blog. Mary at Play off the Page

    IWSG co-host

  31. Sorry this is happening. But it sounds like you have a great attitude and therefore, will conquer! Keep up the optimism!

  32. I have to agree that seeing your book come off the shelves can be heartbreaking, but it is just a bump in the road. With all the self-publishing options that are out there, your book will be back up in no time. That’s one of the main reasons I went the self-pub route — so I wouldn’t have to worry about publishers going under. I like having the control, and once you’ve done it the first time, it gets easier. I know you can do it and be successful with it. Keep going and don’t give up!

  33. Sometimes it’s best to self-publish from the start and have complete control of your project. Hope all goes well as you re-publish it. Maybe the new cover will give you a sales boost.

  34. I like the new cover. I’m only with small presses, so I hope they stay strong.

  35. Even when we’re prepared for something, it’s still shocking when it finally happens. I feel bad for the publisher too but I’m sure things will go well when you re-publish.

  36. jennifer@badbirdreads

    Wow, that sucks. Keep going strong.

  37. Oh no! The publisher of your new book went under? That’s terrible. I’m so sorry to hear.

    Even the bigger ones are going under. Mine was one of the biggest e-pubs around, and it wasn’t enough to save them. Sad times.

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.