IWSG #1 – Dealing with Insecurity

InsecureWritersSupportGroupThis post was written for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group where we share our encouragement or insecurities on the first Wednesday of the month, to join the group or find out more, click here.

It comes in waves of harsh reality. I can’t do this and it doesn’t matter if it is in my blood or if I’ve written everyday for most of my life. It doesn’t mater that I spend hours imagining stories that entertained me. It doesn’t matter that I’ve learned how to write them down and share what I’ve learned with whomever wished to learn.

In between the waves I submit, letting the tide take me where it will.

Am I scared? Oh yes, but when something runs deeply it’s hard to keep it to yourself. It is harder to turn your back on it. I’m not saying I’m a great writer. I wish I was, but I do understand something about the greats of the human race. They all had this drive, and they kept going until their vision changed the world. I’m not arrogant enough to think I’ll be doing this, but I’ll be reaching for it.

It scares me like nothing else in my life has — the brass ring, the open window, the big chance. It’s there and I can see it beyond my fingertips. I’m not alone. So many hands, and so many chances, yet we stand together like an army trying for greatness. And I wonder which of us will find it.

There is no doubt that some of us will.

I don’t care who makes it. To be a part of such a community is pleasure enough. I love the creativity, excitement, and will until the day I die.

Being an insecure writer is who I am and until the last few years I kept it to myself. With the internet I’ve discovered I’m not alone. Many of us bob along between the waves of bravery and terror.

If you are part of this, be excited, be afraid and love every moment of it. You’re alive and doing something truly remarkable. I face my fears, as you do, and every time I submit I jump in over my head, wondering what will happen next.

Now that I have found you, hold my hand and let’s jump together.

 

 

 

69 responses to “IWSG #1 – Dealing with Insecurity

  1. terrirochenski

    Great post, Em!! I’ll gladly hold your hand. 😉 I’m all about taking the plunge – most times just for the hell of it.

  2. Feather Stone

    I have this weird notion. Are we not already ‘great?’ Those artists / writers who already have been labelled ‘great’ achieved that level because the viewer / reader declared the product to be outstanding – or not. Fifty Shades was given this holy hype and yet when I ask many of those who read it, their reply begins with a wrinkling of their nose. Beauty (or greatness) is in the eye of the beholder. If someone read your book and loved it, you have achieved your goal. But not everybody will have the same reaction. I thinks it’s more important for you to love your work, recognize the magic you created. Stop comparing yourself to anyone else.

    • Well said. I’d like to think we all share the same source of creativity, but we add ourselves to it and it becomes unique.

      Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

  3. It really is scary but so much fun. What an inspiring post. Thank you!

    Elsie
    co-host IWSG

  4. I’ll gladly hold your hand, too, Em! This is all new and super scary, for me, so it’s great to know I’m not alone. Great post! Thanks for sharing.

  5. This part of your post made me let out a whoop that startled my sleeping cat: “I don’t care who makes it. To be a part of such a community is pleasure enough. I love the creativity, excitement, and will until the day I die”

    Yes, yes! 😀

    Thank you for dropping by my blog today. Always nice to meet another passionate writer! 😀

  6. historysleuth1

    You are so right, it is such a crazy mix of bravery and terror. I figure as long as one keeps moving even when we have self doubt, it’s one step closer to our goal and what an exciting journey it is!
    History Sleuth – IWSG .

  7. Jump, hop, skip or run…let’s go!

  8. I guess that’s something we all need to remember, as authors. We are not alone. We are all in this together! Even if we have to sit and write alone, we go through all the same fears, insecurities, ups and downs. We love to create worlds and people in them. If we could do it for real, we would! (I know I would. 🙂

    In the end, it’s like we are all the same Author–just different manifestations of the same “Being.”

  9. Debbie Johansson

    I’m jumping right in with you Anna! I completely agree that with the help of the internet we aren’t alone. It’s certainly scary, but being part of a community certainly helps. It’s good to meet you and I look forward to hearing about your writing journey. 🙂

  10. Hi there! I went to the list of bloggers on IWSG and discovered you were the next name, and I was only just ‘talking’ to you on my blog this morning! So hello again. Wonderful to meet you, and yes, I know exactly what you mean. Every single time I submit something, it’s terrifying! Good to meet a kindred spirit 🙂

  11. “Many of us bob along between the waves of bravery and terror.” Terror, sometimes, being the operative word. 🙂

  12. Lovely post Anna 🙂

    To me, this whole thing is a journey and there will be hills and valleys, oceans and deserts. Im trying to enjoy the journey, even when i come across scary monsters 🙂

    Good luck honey and thanks for stopping by at mine today xx

  13. What a beautiful post! I really enjoyed reading your words and they had me smiling all the way to the end ❤ I am a bit terrified of sharing my book with the world and as much as we say we don't mind if it doesn't become a big seller.. we all want the world to like it .. at least a little bit.

  14. I can so relate to this post. Usually I am very excited and hopeful when I submit, but after a few days the fear sets in. Still, that time between submission and rejection is a sort of free place where my dreams have wings. Good luck to you. I’m sure you will achieve that greatness as long as you don’t give up!

  15. Margo Berendsen

    I love that imagery of us all bobbing together in the waves… that captures it exactly. I believe that when you have such a strong vision to do something – e.g. writing – you can’t let it go even if it seems like a hopeless pursuit sometimes. The joy is in the journey.

  16. Diane Burton

    We’re all scared at some time in our lives/careers. Holding hands & jumping is the right thing to do. This group is so supportive. Imagine what we can do if we all hold hands and jump. 🙂

  17. You go and you go until you sink. That’s all there is.

  18. It helps a lot to know you’re not alone in this writerly path. It gives you comfort and people who cheers one another.

  19. Jumping together is so much more fun than jumping alone.
    Welcome to the IWSG!!! It’s great to see you part of the group 🙂

  20. Glad you decided to join us. It took me a about a year after the group started to admit in public that I was insecure. But now it’s out, and I’m available for hand-holding and throwing a life preserver anytime you want. Just make sure to get my attention first! Otherwise, I might have my nose in a book and never know. My love of reading often overpowers my urge to write. In case you don’t recognize the name, I’m Sher A Hart–for the pun of it.

  21. Your passion for writing leaps off the page. You go, grrrl ! Writing is quite the adventure whether you sink or swim and it’s a lot of fun to be with a school of fish rather than a loner turtle. LOL..Great post. Best wishes for success in your writing career!

  22. Yes, yes, YES! Let’s all jump together! And the beauty of it is…we all celebrate when one of our peeps experiences success…on any level.

  23. Beautifully written! I’m inspired every day by other members of the writing community who are facing their fears and finding time in their busy schedules to follow the deep desire to write. I think that just having the guts to follow our dreams and put our ideas to paper makes us all great.

  24. Great post. Very inspiring. There is no reason why you can’t make it and by the sounds of it, you have the right attitude to do it.

  25. It’s so important to be a part of a community. Glad you are here.

  26. “…be excited, be afraid and love every moment of it!”
    That about nails my current feelings… 🙂
    You can count me in on the “hand-holding and leaping circle of insecure writers”… at least we are company for each other…
    Writer In Transit

  27. “It’s a dangerous business, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet there’s no telling where you’ll be swept off to.” But we do it anyway, don’t we? Love your post! Welcome to the IWSG! I recently joined too. 🙂

  28. This is a marvelous post! I know exactly how you feel. It is frightening, to send words out there. Even blogging sometimes is hard for me. What will happen if no one connects? If no one gets it? Ah well, I keep writing because I must.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog the other day! I appreciate the comment.
    Nice to meet you!
    Jen

  29. sherry fundin

    I think you have a lot of courage for putting yourself out there. I am wishing you much luck and feel like you are already a success. ^_^

  30. It’s a little less scary when you know you’re in great company. Welcome to the group. =)

  31. Brilliant post, and it’s great to find other authors to hold onto in this sea of writers. Good luck with your current writing projects. 🙂

  32. Support can make all the difference, even in your attitude.

    The bobbing made me think about when I was a kid, and my parent took me fishing. When I was really little I would watch the cork in the water, and say here little fishy, come on little fishy hoping it bite my mothers fishing bait. My dad would go somewhere else saying I was disturbing the fishing, but mama still caught more. It was too funny. I had this image saying here little reader, come on little reader, bite my blog/book…. *rolls eyes*

    Have a great day. Thanks for visiting my blog.
    Juneta at Writer’s Gambit

If you're new to writing, ask me anything and if you're experienced, feel free to share what you know. Learning something new in the craft is always welcome.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.